my profile | register | search | faq | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
»  COMBATSIM.COM Forum Archive   » Game Discussions (Title-specific)   » MS Combat Flight Simulator 2   » Dive Brakes????

   
Author Topic: Dive Brakes????
Speedbrake
Member
Member # 2011

posted 12-21-2000 09:28 AM     Profile for Speedbrake   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Has nayone got the dive brakes command to work? I saw the modification that changes line 327 in the .air file from false to true but even that didn't work for me.

Anyone?????


Posts: 310 | From: Fort Worth, TX USA | Registered: Jan 2000  |  IP: Logged
SpinDry
Member
Member # 7379

posted 12-21-2000 09:37 AM     Profile for SpinDry   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
I've been using the spoiler areas of the AIR file, instead. Even if you enable them, you have to go further down and define the max angle (in radians), and work out coefficients for drag, lift, and pitch moment. They're enabled in my P-38J if you want do take a look at some representative values.

HTH!
Spinny


Posts: 296 | From: Rome, NY, USA | Registered: Oct 2000  |  IP: Logged
Speedbrake
Member
Member # 2011

posted 12-21-2000 11:44 AM     Profile for Speedbrake   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Thanks Spinny! Since I downloaded you P-38J this morning - I'll go in and check it out!
Posts: 310 | From: Fort Worth, TX USA | Registered: Jan 2000  |  IP: Logged
HawkeyeII
Member
Member # 8769

posted 12-21-2000 12:39 PM     Profile for HawkeyeII   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Yeah mine work in my SBD.. I hit the "D" key as I nose over.. and she slows right down..
I use the ecu panel from the Corsair that shows the dive brake lever...
Hawkeye

Posts: 25 | From: S.C. USA | Registered: Dec 2000  |  IP: Logged
SpinDry
Member
Member # 7379

posted 12-21-2000 12:48 PM     Profile for SpinDry   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Cool. My P-38J panel uses a neat little idiot light I got from Abacus. Says "Speed Brake" and glows red-orange when you engage it; even a Navy flyer could understand that.
Posts: 296 | From: Rome, NY, USA | Registered: Oct 2000  |  IP: Logged
Smitty66
Member
Member # 4249

posted 12-21-2000 02:03 PM     Profile for Smitty66   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
It works on the Corsair...

I wonder why MS didnt animate it?


Posts: 28 | From: Vancouver,BC,Canada | Registered: Apr 2000  |  IP: Logged
Speedbrake
Member
Member # 2011

posted 12-21-2000 02:57 PM     Profile for Speedbrake   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Maybe that's it - they didn't animate it! I kept looking for the dive brakes to deploy from an outside view and they didn't!
Posts: 310 | From: Fort Worth, TX USA | Registered: Jan 2000  |  IP: Logged
Smitty66
Member
Member # 4249

posted 12-21-2000 03:02 PM     Profile for Smitty66   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Hey...I actually helped someone today!!!


Posts: 28 | From: Vancouver,BC,Canada | Registered: Apr 2000  |  IP: Logged

All times are MST (US)  

   Close Topic    Move Topic    Delete Topic next oldest topic   next newest topic
Hop To:

Contact Us | COMBATSIM.COM Home

COMBATSIM.COM, INC. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by Infopop Corporation
Ultimate Bulletin Board 6.04b

Sponsor
2014 COMBATSIM.COM - All Rights Reserved