my profile | register | search | faq | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
»  COMBATSIM.COM Forum Archive   » Game Discussions (Title-specific)   » MS Combat Flight Simulator 2   » Shutdown Problem

   
Author Topic: Shutdown Problem
Robin Mun-Gavin
Member
Member # 1474

posted 12-02-2000 06:39 AM     Profile for Robin Mun-Gavin   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
I was getting a lockup ("screen-freeze")with CFS 2 and EAW with my new computer.

I sorted this out by going into DirectX 8 diagnostic tool and under the 'display' tab, diabling AGP support (I picked this up from an earlier post on this forum). Problem solved but now however, my computer doesn't complete its shutdown - the error message is "Windows Protection Error. You need to restart your computer. System halted" (on a blue background). The only way I can get out of this is to hold down the "power" key until it powers off (reboot button/contol-alt-delete don't work!). The interesting thing is that this error occurs only after using CFS 2 but not after using European Air War or any other application!!??

Would appreciate any help/guidance.


Posts: 68 | From: Durban, KwaZulu Natal, South Africa | Registered: Dec 1999  |  IP: Logged
naz
Member
Member # 3800

posted 12-02-2000 07:40 AM     Profile for naz   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
I get a similar shutdown problem using cfs2. I don't get any error messages, I just get the blue windows screen with clouds that says "windows is now shutting down" (or words to that effect)and the computer just freezes.

I don't get any other lockups in game and haven't had to disable the agp support as you have done.

Similarly, it only happens with cfs2 and not with any other games or programmes.

Anyone else?

Cheers
Naz


Posts: 34 | From: Alice Springs, Australia | Registered: Mar 2000  |  IP: Logged
RAF1
Member
Member # 7923

posted 12-02-2000 08:57 AM     Profile for RAF1   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Guys,

I have had the blue screen of death with the protection error message as well. Has not really been a problem yet but certainly is odd I grant you. Only with CFS2.

Box:

P3 1gHz
256k memory
Nvidia GForce2 GTS 64 meg


RAF1


Posts: 6 | From: | Registered: Nov 2000  |  IP: Logged
Robin Mun-Gavin
Member
Member # 1474

posted 12-02-2000 09:47 AM     Profile for Robin Mun-Gavin   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Further to my opening message - my OS is Windows Me and I have a 800 MHz PIII machine with a Nvidia Riva TNT2 32MB graphics card.

There definitely seems to be a connection between disabling the AGP support in DirectX 8 (have to in order to stop the sim locking in"mid-flight") and the shutdown problem.

Any others with some advice?

Thanks.


Posts: 68 | From: Durban, KwaZulu Natal, South Africa | Registered: Dec 1999  |  IP: Logged
Nicholas Bell
Member
Member # 7603

posted 12-02-2000 03:18 PM     Profile for Nicholas Bell   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
My situation is identical to Naz's.
Posts: 9 | From: Suburban Philadelphia | Registered: Oct 2000  |  IP: Logged
dreddzepplin
Member
Member # 8347

posted 12-02-2000 07:24 PM     Profile for dreddzepplin   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
I've been having screen freeze really bad. The way I fixed it was to reinstall windows(the system registry gets corrupted after time, espcially w/windows98). And got a decent video card (32mb Hurcules ProphetII) and the latest driver for it.
Also it helps to shut off any programs running on your toolbar you dont need (messenger, vshield, etc.) to free up your system resources.
And before you launch your CFS2, re start you computer first.(It seems to help)
And keep your computer tuned up. Run your disk clean up program and defrag your system periodically.
Good Luck

Posts: 1 | From: | Registered: Dec 2000  |  IP: Logged
Robin Mun-Gavin
Member
Member # 1474

posted 12-02-2000 10:41 PM     Profile for Robin Mun-Gavin   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Is there anyone out there who is experiencing this problem and is considering addressing the question to Microsoft. I've tried to direct this question to Microsoft via their website, but don't seem to be able to find a way of "logging" the question with them.
I beleive that they may be able to help in that my query relates to DirectX 8 AGP disabling (which sorts out CFS 2 - no more lockups) but then throws out the shutdown procedure (with Windows Me).

Is there anyone out there who is willing and able to help me (I don't like the idea of holding down the "power" button to shutdown, to be followed by a scandisk everytime I want to shutdown).

Thanks.


Posts: 68 | From: Durban, KwaZulu Natal, South Africa | Registered: Dec 1999  |  IP: Logged

All times are MST (US)  

   Close Topic    Move Topic    Delete Topic next oldest topic   next newest topic
Hop To:

Contact Us | COMBATSIM.COM Home

COMBATSIM.COM, INC. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by Infopop Corporation
Ultimate Bulletin Board 6.04b

Sponsor
2014 COMBATSIM.COM - All Rights Reserved