my profile | register | search | faq | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
»  COMBATSIM.COM Forum Archive   » Game Discussions (Title-specific)   » MS Combat Flight Simulator 2   » Losing resolution on the aircraft

   
Author Topic: Losing resolution on the aircraft
stag

Member # 0

posted 11-04-2000 05:10 PM     Profile for stag     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
I've been trying my hand at skinning. the problem is, that by the time the texture hits the aircraft, it's lost all detail. In the setup, I've shifted the slider over to read 1024 textures, but I appear to be getting no better than 256. is there something I'm missing?
Posts: | From: | Registered: A Long Time Ago!  |  IP: Logged
Wasp
Member
Member # 3002

posted 11-04-2000 05:52 PM     Profile for Wasp   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Stag, your Spits and Hurris are the best, can't wait to see the results of your CFS2 painting.
Regards
Wasp

------------------
Una salus victus nullam sperare salutem.
The one hope of the doomed is not to hope for safety.
Virgil's Aeneid


Posts: 565 | From: Letchworth, Herts,England | Registered: Feb 2000  |  IP: Logged
stag

Member # 0

posted 11-04-2000 06:06 PM     Profile for stag     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Thanks for the compliment Wasp. but to be honest, so far there's nothing special to look at for CFS2, due to the grotty res problems.

[This message has been edited by stag (edited 11-04-2000).]


Posts: | From: | Registered: A Long Time Ago!  |  IP: Logged
stag

Member # 0

posted 11-05-2000 04:18 AM     Profile for stag     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
(Bump)
Posts: | From: | Registered: A Long Time Ago!  |  IP: Logged
buchstabe-bub
Member
Member # 7704

posted 11-05-2000 05:20 AM     Profile for buchstabe-bub   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
re-bump
Stag, I've taken an interest in creating skins for CFS2 and I'm wondering what tool(s) you're using. I've downloaded DXTBmp and the associated system files to run it. Got it from http://fly.to/mwgfx under New files. Is this what you're using for the conversion? What editor are you using? Any theories yet about the rez loss? Have you asked Airbuddha about it? He might have some idea since he must make skins for his addon planes (or so I guess).
Well, sorry I couldn't really help. I hope you find the solution.

Posts: 118 | From: Columbus, GA, USA | Registered: Nov 2000  |  IP: Logged
stag

Member # 0

posted 11-05-2000 05:26 AM     Profile for stag     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
if you've got DXTbmp, then I think all you need after that would be a standard arts program; I use PSP. The textures don't seem to go pear-shaped until they hit the aircraft, so I believe that my problem is an in-game setting. Not much point in doing fine detail though, if all that can be seen in the game are shapeless lumps.

Is this a bug? or is it that my faithful old Banshee has finally met its match? If so, why am I given the settings option?

[This message has been edited by stag (edited 11-05-2000).]


Posts: | From: | Registered: A Long Time Ago!  |  IP: Logged
buchstabe-bub
Member
Member # 7704

posted 11-05-2000 05:28 AM     Profile for buchstabe-bub   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Oops! I saw an earlier post where you mention DXTBmp. Sorry for my superfluousity (not a real word).

------------------
No human could have stacked books like that.


Posts: 118 | From: Columbus, GA, USA | Registered: Nov 2000  |  IP: Logged
buchstabe-bub
Member
Member # 7704

posted 11-05-2000 05:32 AM     Profile for buchstabe-bub   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Shapeless lumps? It's that bad? This is disconcerting. BTW, what plane are you working on (unless it's a secret) and then I'll stop bothering you.

------------------
No human could have stacked books like that.


Posts: 118 | From: Columbus, GA, USA | Registered: Nov 2000  |  IP: Logged
stag

Member # 0

posted 11-05-2000 05:55 AM     Profile for stag     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Just practicing a the mo, trying to put some custom nose art on an F4U. But its no good putting a vision of loveliness up there for all to see if you can't make out her, er, finer points.

Posts: | From: | Registered: A Long Time Ago!  |  IP: Logged
stag

Member # 0

posted 11-05-2000 06:07 AM     Profile for stag     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Eg This:

Becomes this:


Posts: | From: | Registered: A Long Time Ago!  |  IP: Logged
buchstabe-bub
Member
Member # 7704

posted 11-05-2000 06:29 AM     Profile for buchstabe-bub   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
I see her points . . .er, I mean your point.

------------------
No human could have stacked books like that.


Posts: 118 | From: Columbus, GA, USA | Registered: Nov 2000  |  IP: Logged
FredTitmus
Member
Member # 7649

posted 11-05-2000 08:04 AM     Profile for FredTitmus   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
The problem is the Compression used by DXT. This is "Lossy" and throws away 75% of the real bitmap data. MS were very careful with their choice of colours and made sure there were no very sharp colour contrasts by blending colours together where they meet.

To preserve all detail then you will have to use the uncompressed versions (565 and 555-1) but you will be getting 2meg Textures (and possibly FPS reductions)


Posts: 8 | From: | Registered: Oct 2000  |  IP: Logged
stag

Member # 0

posted 11-05-2000 08:51 AM     Profile for stag     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Thanks fred, I'll give that a shot.


Posts: | From: | Registered: A Long Time Ago!  |  IP: Logged
buchstabe-bub
Member
Member # 7704

posted 11-05-2000 11:05 AM     Profile for buchstabe-bub   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Looks like I should have read the help file in DXTBmp concerning 16 bit extended formats. I wonder what MS did to get detail into the texture files without making them huge? Do you guys think it could be emulated? Is it a matter of technique or are we limited to either huge files with good detail or small files with "blobs?" I wonder if Abacus is waiting to pounce on this? Why is the sky blue? etc, etc, ad nauseum . . . .

------------------
No human could have stacked books like that.


Posts: 118 | From: Columbus, GA, USA | Registered: Nov 2000  |  IP: Logged
stag

Member # 0

posted 11-05-2000 02:20 PM     Profile for stag     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
This is crazy! I can show detail better on a 256x256 pcx in EAW!

Microsoft has got a Lot to learn


Posts: | From: | Registered: A Long Time Ago!  |  IP: Logged

All times are MST (US)  

   Close Topic    Move Topic    Delete Topic next oldest topic   next newest topic
Hop To:

Contact Us | COMBATSIM.COM Home

COMBATSIM.COM, INC. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by Infopop Corporation
Ultimate Bulletin Board 6.04b

Sponsor
2014 COMBATSIM.COM - All Rights Reserved