my profile | register | search | faq | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
»  COMBATSIM.COM Forum Archive   » Game Discussions (Title-specific)   » MS Combat Flight Simulator 2   » Q:If I want to build a PIII 1G, What MB?

   
Author Topic: Q:If I want to build a PIII 1G, What MB?
Tiger93
Member
Member # 7353

posted 10-27-2000 03:03 AM     Profile for Tiger93   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Ok guys, a week ago I asked whether I should go with the 2 VoodooII cards or upgrade to a new Voodoo IV or V in my PII 333 96, and most of you told me to upgrade my CPU. So, my question now is this: If I want to go with the PIII 1G CPU, what type MB do I need to get? And do I go with the standard SDRAM or the new RDRAM? Thanks again!

------------------
If there ain't guns on the wings, it ain't flyin'!


Posts: 12 | From: Huntsville, AL 35803 | Registered: Oct 2000  |  IP: Logged
^LoBo^
Member
Member # 3810

posted 10-27-2000 05:23 AM     Profile for ^LoBo^   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Well you could look at a site such as www.sharkyextreme.com for some hints on what to get.

Good luck!!!


Posts: 61 | From: Stockholm, Sweden. | Registered: Mar 2000  |  IP: Logged
slugged
Member
Member # 1255

posted 10-27-2000 07:40 AM     Profile for slugged   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
I would go with the Asus CUSL2 and 256meg of PC133 SDRAM from say Mushkin. Their Rev 1.5 is pretty cheap and it's CAS 2 at 133. Then get a Voodoo5.
http://www.tomshardware.com/mainboard/00q3/000906/i815-08.html
http://www.anandtech.com/showdoc.html?i=1274

slugged


Posts: 152 | From: | Registered: Dec 1999  |  IP: Logged
bhodi
Member
Member # 612

posted 10-27-2000 07:45 AM     Profile for bhodi   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Try www.overclockers.com to checkout the overclocking aspect of computing. If you're going to build it yourself try overclocking. It's alot cheaper and easy too.
I run a P-III 700E at 933mhz and it runs flawlessly. I could probaly run it faster but this speed is the easiest to figure out and doesn't stress the equipment. I ran the Quake II crusher test for 24 hours and never had a crash or went below 60FPS. CFS2 runs with all the options on at 1024x768 at around 30+FPS all the time. Even with a giant furball going on.
The cost of Motherboard, 128megs of PC133 memory and CPU was $645 bucks. [If you want a Gig a 850 PIII will overclock to that easy.]
I bought them at http://www.pretestedcpus.com/ Mike the owner is really helpful, plus the guys on the forums at www.overclockers.com are alot like combatsim forum guys....A really good bunch of people.
If you have questions about Overclocking please feel free to e-mail me at [email protected]

------------------
Keep your head on a pivot and check six.

[This message has been edited by bhodi (edited 10-27-2000).]

[This message has been edited by bhodi (edited 10-27-2000).]


Posts: 32 | From: Kenosha, WI , USA | Registered: Oct 1999  |  IP: Logged
Bill Hewett
Member
Member # 115

posted 10-27-2000 09:37 AM     Profile for Bill Hewett   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
If you're set on Intel then I would concur with the Asus CUSL2 mobo and 256 MB PC133 SDRAM.
Think about the P3 866 tho'. It's easily overclocked to 923 without any stability sacrifice. Plus it's far more cost effective than the 1 GB (or 933 for that matter).
But also think about the Athon route. I don't have any personal experience but the price certainly is advantageous. See Viking1's article.

Posts: 1279 | From: MA, USA | Registered: Sep 1999  |  IP: Logged
Truro
Member
Member # 679

posted 10-27-2000 10:09 AM     Profile for Truro   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Another vote for a 7 or 800 PIII instead of a 1 gig. Along with good CAS2 133 memory, overclocked. www.memman.com has good ram, costs less than mushkin, I have used both..
Posts: 1441 | From: Tulsa, Ok | Registered: Oct 1999  |  IP: Logged
Tiger93
Member
Member # 7353

posted 10-27-2000 12:31 PM     Profile for Tiger93   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Ok, if I went with the 866, would the Asus CUSL2 board allow me to upgrade to a bigger CPU later on? I am also thinking of the future here, as in the bigger the CPU now the longer the new computer will be competitive! How fast can you overclock a 1G?? lol! I did read the article by Len, but I am just more comfortable with the Intel.

------------------
If there ain't guns on the wings, it ain't flyin'!


Posts: 12 | From: Huntsville, AL 35803 | Registered: Oct 2000  |  IP: Logged
slugged
Member
Member # 1255

posted 10-27-2000 12:48 PM     Profile for slugged   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Well that is a good question. I think the board is listed as supporting 933Mhz. From what I've read the PIII will not be released much higher than 1.2 or so GHz. After that Intel will switch to a .13micron process I believe that will allow them to take the PIII higher. In the mean time they will introduce the PIV, however no current motherboard or chipset will accept this processor. Not sure if the i815 will support the new PIII at .13micron or not.

It's a crap shoot no matter how you look at it. Motherboards are relatively cheap though so I would pretty much count on upgrading your motherboard with a new CPU.

slugged


Posts: 152 | From: | Registered: Dec 1999  |  IP: Logged
Bill Hewett
Member
Member # 115

posted 10-27-2000 01:21 PM     Profile for Bill Hewett   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
'nother reason to look at the P3 800 series vs. the 1 Ghz:

"PIII 1.133 in Q2 2001
Posted by Vangie "Aurora" Beal: October 27th

Word on the street is that Intel's Pentium III processor running at 1.133 GHz will not be available in quantity until the second quarter of 2001. Intel is holding back on rushing the recently recalled chip back to market so that it can concentrate on the launch of the Pentium 4. Also, the 1.133 GHz PIII will be re-launched in FC-PGA socketed format instead of the SECC2/Slot 1 package that it was introduced in. Intel is expected to launch a 1.4 and 1.5 GHz Pentium 4 in November and AMD is expected to have a 1.2 GHz Athlon ready sometime this month, with faster versions available by the end of the year."


Posts: 1279 | From: MA, USA | Registered: Sep 1999  |  IP: Logged
Tiger93
Member
Member # 7353

posted 10-27-2000 01:23 PM     Profile for Tiger93   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Well that leads to the next question then Am I better off to wait for the Pentium IV or go ahead with the top line III? I have always been told never to upgrade unless you can jump 2 processors? I have a PII now, so a PIV would be that jump?? But if I do decide to go with the PIII now, is the Asus CUSL2 the best out there?

------------------
If there ain't guns on the wings, it ain't flyin'!


Posts: 12 | From: Huntsville, AL 35803 | Registered: Oct 2000  |  IP: Logged
Bill Hewett
Member
Member # 115

posted 10-27-2000 01:31 PM     Profile for Bill Hewett   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
P4's will be hard to come by and very expensive for quite some time after their expected launch next month.
But a P3 800 series cpu is an order of magnitude improvement over your current P2 333. Therefore, as the Nike ad says "just do it."
And yes, imho the Asus CUSL2 is the best Intel-based mobo currently on the market. Just be sure your processor is in the FC-PGA (aka "flip chip") configuration vs. slot 1.

Edit: Slugged and I had the same idea. Approx [pricewatch.com] prices (OEM = no heatsink or fan):

P3 1 Ghz $500
P3 933 $350
P3 866 $250
P3 800B (133 Mhz) $200

[This message has been edited by Bill Hewett (edited 10-27-2000).]

[This message has been edited by Bill Hewett (edited 10-27-2000).]


Posts: 1279 | From: MA, USA | Registered: Sep 1999  |  IP: Logged
slugged
Member
Member # 1255

posted 10-27-2000 01:31 PM     Profile for slugged   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
You just have to ask yourself one question. How fast do you want to spend?

P3 800 = approx. $225

P4 1.4 = approx. $900 or more at release and $550 or so by the end of January.

You make the call

slugged


Posts: 152 | From: | Registered: Dec 1999  |  IP: Logged

All times are MST (US)  

   Close Topic    Move Topic    Delete Topic next oldest topic   next newest topic
Hop To:

Contact Us | COMBATSIM.COM Home

COMBATSIM.COM, INC. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by Infopop Corporation
Ultimate Bulletin Board 6.04b

Sponsor
2014 COMBATSIM.COM - All Rights Reserved