my profile | register | search | faq | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
»  COMBATSIM.COM Forum Archive   » Game Discussions (Title-specific)   » MS Combat Flight Simulator 2   » Wow! I just saw two new things...

   
Author Topic: Wow! I just saw two new things...
Airbuddha
Member
Member # 227

posted 10-22-2000 02:55 PM     Profile for Airbuddha   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
1. I had never checked the box for detailed texturing. I didn't think the terrain was bad by any means, but neither did it overly impress me. Checking the detail texturing box makes this far and away the best scenery I've ever seen.

I now have every option maxed out at 1024x768 32bit color and the lowest my FPS ever dropped was momentarily to 12 FPS with 16 planes fighting over Henderson. It mostly stayed in the mid 20's.

I had clouds turned on, but I could have gotten a 6 to 8 FPS increase by turning off ground object shadows.

2. I thought my wingman had lost his mind as he came over the airfield as I was landing. I saw something drop from his plane and explode on the ground. I'm thinking "I didn't outfit those Bozo's with bombs. What's he doing?"

The next thing I know, he drops from the sky, bellies in and explodes. He didn't drop a bomb. Something fell from his plane and caused him to crash. He must have sustained damage from the dogfight. My jaw just dropped.

This sim just keeps amazing me


Posts: 430 | From: Slipper Gut, WV, USA | Registered: Sep 1999  |  IP: Logged
SR
Member
Member # 7183

posted 10-22-2000 04:04 PM     Profile for SR   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
I just checked and I had that off , turned it on and wow the water looks so much nicer Your right looks much better .

Will leave it on too , I used the line in the 128 v 256 debate too don't know if it helped or not but it didn't hurt and still booted , hehe . I always wonder u know ?

SR


Posts: 142 | From: Michigan , USA | Registered: Oct 2000  |  IP: Logged
char
Member
Member # 3133

posted 10-22-2000 06:16 PM     Profile for char   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote

I didn't have that checked either!

WHen do you use anti-alias?

What planes are you having the most fun with?

Like your attitude airbuddha!

[This message has been edited by char (edited 10-22-2000).]


Posts: 108 | From: Ketchum Idaho USA | Registered: Feb 2000  |  IP: Logged
Jv44~Siggi
Member
Member # 7455

posted 10-22-2000 06:56 PM     Profile for Jv44~Siggi   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
This sim just sounds better and better! Roll on friday.
Posts: 226 | From: UK | Registered: Oct 2000  |  IP: Logged
Reb28
Member
Member # 3329

posted 10-22-2000 08:46 PM     Profile for Reb28   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
It is strange but my FPS goes up in 1152X864 you may want to try it.

Reb28


Posts: 26 | From: | Registered: Feb 2000  |  IP: Logged
Robert Dean
Member
Member # 7330

posted 10-22-2000 11:09 PM     Profile for Robert Dean   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
I am just waiting for the 1.3GHz CPU and V5 6000 hardware. As sson as I get these 2 pieces of hardware, I think CFS2 will rock !
Posts: 319 | From: | Registered: Oct 2000  |  IP: Logged
Mk10 225th
Member
Member # 7259

posted 10-23-2000 07:40 AM     Profile for Mk10 225th   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Siggi, I hate to tell you this, but BT has taken over distribution of all Microsoft products in the UK.

While they originally promised to ship 56 per day, they're now down to 28.8, and may even ship just a tad over 14 per day.

Sorry, but I thought you'd want to know.

Mk10 Maj=225th=


Posts: 30 | From: | Registered: Oct 2000  |  IP: Logged
MrMinerva
Member
Member # 7358

posted 10-23-2000 01:23 PM     Profile for MrMinerva   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Air Buddha

You may be tired of answering this but what are your system specs.?

I am going home to load it up.

I have a:
Celeron 466 - not currently overclocked
128 MB of RAM
TNT2 32 meg

Whaddaya think will happen?

Curious,

Minerva


Posts: 65 | From: Pickens SC | Registered: Oct 2000  |  IP: Logged
Airbuddha
Member
Member # 227

posted 10-23-2000 01:29 PM     Profile for Airbuddha   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Hi SR,

I tried adding that line too. I didn't notice an improvement, but did have a lockup that I think was un-related. I switched it back.

Yeah, me too. I'm always a sucker to try anything that might give me a little more speed, but I'm only running a lowly Celery 433 OC'd to 488

Airbuddha


Posts: 430 | From: Slipper Gut, WV, USA | Registered: Sep 1999  |  IP: Logged
Airbuddha
Member
Member # 227

posted 10-23-2000 01:35 PM     Profile for Airbuddha   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Hi MrMinerva,

I'm currently running (and suspect will be for some time) a...

Celeron 433 OC'd to 488
128MB RAM
GeForce 256 DDR DVI 32MB

I can OC to 541, but get occasional lockups, which is a real shame since it really boosts my FPS, but I stay at 488 for stability's sake.

It should run fine cranked up, especially if your TNT2 is an Ultra. Flying with clear skies gives me the most performance with everything else maxed out, but I love those clouds.

Airbuddha


Posts: 430 | From: Slipper Gut, WV, USA | Registered: Sep 1999  |  IP: Logged
ivanmoe
Member
Member # 7488

posted 10-23-2000 04:03 PM     Profile for ivanmoe   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
What view are you using for the benchmarks, Airbuddha?

My best/worst FPS views are:
Crosshairs only (best)
HUD view
Virtual Cockpit
Exterior
Full Instrument Panel (worst)

Rod


Posts: 15 | From: | Registered: Oct 2000  |  IP: Logged
Hitech1
Member
Member # 3004

posted 10-23-2000 04:56 PM     Profile for Hitech1   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
SR,

Quote "I used the line in the 128 v 256 debate too". What do you mean buy this?

Hitech


Posts: 87 | From: Tampa, Florida USA | Registered: Feb 2000  |  IP: Logged
SR
Member
Member # 7183

posted 10-23-2000 05:09 PM     Profile for SR   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
They tell how to write a "line" of code in a file to help you use more of your RAM bufore you access your harddrive .

I am using it but really don't see any differance on my PC will be removeing it when I get ready to shut down my pc .

Read about the topic it may help yours .

cheers SR


Posts: 142 | From: Michigan , USA | Registered: Oct 2000  |  IP: Logged
Pasha
Member
Member # 3391

posted 10-23-2000 07:37 PM     Profile for Pasha   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
The msdos command line from the other thread cost me about 15% or so degrading of my performance.

just sayin'..


Pasha


Posts: 461 | From: | Registered: Feb 2000  |  IP: Logged

All times are MST (US)  

   Close Topic    Move Topic    Delete Topic next oldest topic   next newest topic
Hop To:

Contact Us | COMBATSIM.COM Home

COMBATSIM.COM, INC. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by Infopop Corporation
Ultimate Bulletin Board 6.04b

Sponsor
2014 COMBATSIM.COM - All Rights Reserved