my profile | register | search | faq | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
»  COMBATSIM.COM Forum Archive   » Game Discussions (Title-specific)   » MS Combat Flight Simulator 2   » Is it me or is this like X-Wing and...

   
Author Topic: Is it me or is this like X-Wing and...
Martin Casteel
Member
Member # 2384

posted 10-17-2000 08:59 AM     Profile for Martin Casteel   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
...Tie fighter?

The wingman AI in the game seems to be sub-par. I am playing with 95% realism and the campaign is on medium. I started the campaign at the very beginning and so far all the pilots can do is die real quick hehe.

I have had a few get 1 or 2 kills, but they died in my last mission. Maybe it is because we are still in the early stages of the war and still using the F4F, but after reading Combatsim's review I thought the wingman AI would be a bit better. I already have 15 Aircraft kills and over 16 ships sunk.

I guess I could turn the AI level up to ace but then wouldn't that mean the enemy AI as well as my fellow wingmen? It just seems that this is another sim where you do all the work and your wingmen are there to die a lot...heh...

Also, does anyone have any tips for fuel mixture and crusing speeds for each plane? I looked in the book and can't find much

Thanks for your replies

[This message has been edited by Martin Casteel (edited 10-17-2000).]


Posts: 7 | From: Saskatoon, Sask, Canada | Registered: Jan 2000  |  IP: Logged
Bill Hewett
Member
Member # 115

posted 10-17-2000 11:24 AM     Profile for Bill Hewett   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
I found one "trick" to improve my wingman's performance. Near the end of a campaign mission we were two vs. one, but I was out of ammo. Everytime I told him to engage he declined. So I steered right at him, with the Zero on my tail, and then told him to engage and he did so successfully. With all enemy splashed the mission was credited.
Posts: 1279 | From: MA, USA | Registered: Sep 1999  |  IP: Logged
ProzacPain
Member
Member # 7328

posted 10-17-2000 01:36 PM     Profile for ProzacPain   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
I've had issues with the AI too, but nothing terrible. I also started at the beginning of the war, on medium setting flying for the US.
The A command for telling wingmen to attack is a little confusing.

I've been having better luck when i only press it once, which only sends a flight of 2 to engage (which i usually make my best pilots that have the kills)

The rest of the wingmen cover me, which keeps them safer as they stay relatively close.

Also i've had problems when i tell all them to engage at the same time especially against ships. Every time i release them all to attack ships (A, A, A) several of the wingies dive into the sea and kill themselves on the bomb run. This does not happen if i only send 2 at a time to attack.

I also think this is partially just reflecting how green the wingies are.
Pretty much as long as they aren't crashing into me, each other or the ground im happy with them.


Posts: 68 | From: Jacksonville FL USA | Registered: Oct 2000  |  IP: Logged
Lucky
Member
Member # 61

posted 10-17-2000 01:49 PM     Profile for Lucky   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Martin,

Hit the "c" key while flying to bring up a checklist which lists cruise settings or go into the aircraft folders for the flyable planes and print out the checklists. They are .txt files.


Posts: 206 | From: | Registered: Sep 1999  |  IP: Logged
Martin Casteel
Member
Member # 2384

posted 10-17-2000 05:36 PM     Profile for Martin Casteel   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Thanks guys..I never thought I could hit the "C" Key while in flight...hehe

Any help with the mixture would be great too. From experimenting I have found out that lowering the mixture gives you a decreased speed in regards to your throttle setting. Is there any online reference I could peruse to help me or is it just one of those "fool around with it and learn" type things?

Also, I read that hitting the period key "." will toggle my brakes on and off, yet this is not the case. Am I wrong or has this feature been changed?

Again, thanks fer the help


Posts: 7 | From: Saskatoon, Sask, Canada | Registered: Jan 2000  |  IP: Logged

All times are MST (US)  

   Close Topic    Move Topic    Delete Topic next oldest topic   next newest topic
Hop To:

Contact Us | COMBATSIM.COM Home

COMBATSIM.COM, INC. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by Infopop Corporation
Ultimate Bulletin Board 6.04b

Sponsor
2014 COMBATSIM.COM - All Rights Reserved