Topic Closed  Topic Closed


  
my profile | register | search | faq | forum home

 
next oldest topic   next newest topic
»  COMBATSIM.COM Forum Archive   » Archives   » EAW Archive 1   » Were the EAW people fired? no more EAW games?

   
Author Topic: Were the EAW people fired? no more EAW games?
Fender
Member
Member # 2054

posted 01-19-2000 11:48 PM     Profile for Fender   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post
I heard that the Falcon 4 people were fired..and EAW was made by microprose also right?. So was it the whole microprose company that got fired or just the falcon 4 developers...If so its a shame..I think EAW is the best WWII air combat game ever made and i've played alot of them...Maybe the EAW developers will get a job with another company that makes flight sims...its hard to find that kind of dedication anywhere. Seems like it was a labor of love for them..and they continued to support their product unlike so many companies today.
Posts: 179 | From: Texas | Registered: Jan 2000  |  IP: Logged
Slapphead
Member
Member # 59

posted 01-20-2000 01:04 AM     Profile for Slapphead   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post
Fender ,

I went and got myself another copy of EAW...for old time sake hehe.

I can imagine in years to come seeing a copy of it in the natural sience and history museum`s


S!


Posts: 1148 | From: london/uk | Registered: Sep 1999  |  IP: Logged
Fender
Member
Member # 2054

posted 01-20-2000 11:57 AM     Profile for Fender   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post
wha?..but were they fired or what?
Posts: 179 | From: Texas | Registered: Jan 2000  |  IP: Logged
HarryM
Member
Member # 1395

posted 01-20-2000 12:30 PM     Profile for HarryM   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post
Major Lee pointed out this link a few days ago.
http://www.thirdwire.com

Looks like a Pacific sim, which is awesome because all we've seen for the last three years from all companies is Europe. I want to flame some Bettys!

At least ONE of the EAW developers is at ThirdWire. It seems Microprose is pretty much out of flight sim developement and will publish only. They aren't developing B17II (Wayward is)

You won't see EAW II from Microprose. That's why many of us want them to release the 3D files so that we can edit shapes.


Posts: 1130 | From: Salinas, CA USA | Registered: Dec 1999  |  IP: Logged
Karac
Member
Member # 465

posted 01-20-2000 03:40 PM     Profile for Karac   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post
I wish Microprose would release the big info.
EAW is such a great game. With the above mentioned files maybe I could finally get my He-219 or Do-335.

Posts: 88 | From: | Registered: Oct 1999  |  IP: Logged
Tinku
Member
Member # 1214

posted 01-20-2000 04:08 PM     Profile for Tinku   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post
With hackers being able to get into high security networks of government agencies one would think that it should be possible to crack the 3d code for EAW...

Maybe we can make a collection and bribe a star hacker to do this for us? :-)

(If the FBI, NSA or someone similar is reading this: I AM KIDDING!!)

Man, how we want those files...


Tinku


Posts: 76 | From: | Registered: Dec 1999  |  IP: Logged
JG300x_Hartmann
Member
Member # 1952

posted 01-20-2000 06:04 PM     Profile for JG300x_Hartmann   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post
Well we could do a lot more with the game if someone out there had a Decompiler. We would be able to view the source code for EAW. We would be able to edit AI, the apparent bugs, and the stupid patch that keeps everyone with different versions from playing together.
Only problem is it takes a llllloooooonnnnggg time to decompile and you would have to be a good code interpreter to understand any of it.

JG300x_Hartmann

------------------
-----------------
JG300x_Hartmann
Webmaster and XO - JG300x
"Find the enemy and shoot him down. Everything else is nonsense."
-Manfred Von Richtofen


Posts: 640 | From: Houston (Sugar Land), TX | Registered: Jan 2000  |  IP: Logged
Dan Shaw
Member
Member # 1527

posted 01-20-2000 07:39 PM     Profile for Dan Shaw   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post
Hartmann, does eawcm not work? I would have thought that would make it easy to match versions.

I also wonder if we wouldn't end up with tons of cheating if the program didn't check for similar flight models. I recall that Interstate 76 was pretty much ruined for multiplayer by all the hacked supercars. (Not that EAW players are similar types, but there must be some idiots among our number.)


Posts: 51 | From: | Registered: Dec 1999  |  IP: Logged
Dave S
Member
Member # 2117

posted 01-20-2000 08:11 PM     Profile for Dave S   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post
I'd been de-ICEing the code here and there for awhile. So far I've gotten 500+ aircraft at once (about all a PII-450 can handle), and increased AI aggressiveness by about 25% by adding more back stick in the turns and damping the oscillations when they try to line up after a turn... Those two mods were relatively doable because the stick X&Y values are stored in one place and the maximum number of aircraft in apparently just four places (16 bit integers, can anyone say 65,536 aircraft??!!), but beyond that it gets almost untraceable. It's very convoluted assembly code (no doubt the steaming output of a Microsoft compiler), so you need a ton of time and patience, and no life (like me!).


Posts: 57 | From: Enid, OK | Registered: Jan 2000  |  IP: Logged
JG300x_Hartmann
Member
Member # 1952

posted 01-20-2000 08:47 PM     Profile for JG300x_Hartmann   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post
EAWCM does the trick for the people who want to use that flight model. There should be limitations on what an aircraft can do but not allowing players with different versions to play together is crazy!

Good work on the de-"ICEing"....
Takes patience doesn't it!

JG300x_Hartmann


Posts: 640 | From: Houston (Sugar Land), TX | Registered: Jan 2000  |  IP: Logged
TK
Member
Member # 1367

posted 01-20-2000 08:50 PM     Profile for TK   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post
Dave S
Your work sounds very interesting. What I would like is some way to export the state of the app to drive gauges, lights etc. I believe someone on the falcon 4 dev team released a program to allow access to that sim's shared memory. Wish EAW had that (or an SDK like MS Flight Simulator).

Posts: 19 | From: Torrance CA | Registered: Dec 1999  |  IP: Logged
LLv34_Snefens
Member
Member # 72

posted 01-20-2000 10:21 PM     Profile for LLv34_Snefens   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post
I kinda like the version check actually. It may seem like a pain in the butt, but just before 1.2 was released it seemed that an increasing number of pilots was suddenly becoming very good, very fast.

I wouldn't mind being able to edit 3d-model tho, and thus making new plane types...as long as people know what they are flying against. Thats the reason the checker was put in.

------------------
LLv34 Snefens
RO, Lentolaivue 34



Posts: 329 | From: Aarhus, Denmark | Registered: Sep 1999  |  IP: Logged
Dan Shaw
Member
Member # 1527

posted 01-20-2000 11:01 PM     Profile for Dan Shaw   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post
Hartmann, are you saying that each player should be able to fly online with their own personal flight model set?

I would have thought that would obviously lead to cheating problems. Wouldn't it bother you if you had to fight a bunch of guys with Hurricanes that were as fast as Me262s, with the firepower of FW 190A-8s?

I suppose one solution (if people can't agree to use ECA Online or ECA 1.4, both of which are supported by EAWCM), is to ask the author of EAWCM to allow extra "slots" for other flight model sets.

I think the better solution is for everybody to just adopt one of the sets as a standard, even if it means your favourite plane isn't quite what you'd like it to be. ECA Online and ECA 1.4 are supposed to use the same modelling in the future, so it seems like the obvious choice.


Posts: 51 | From: | Registered: Dec 1999  |  IP: Logged
JG5_Jerry
Member
Member # 1076

posted 01-21-2000 01:46 AM     Profile for JG5_Jerry   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post
IMHO, the version check is an essential item - I've heard that M$:CFS is riddled with cheating on-line due to the hacking not being checked by the game.

As for hacking out the 3D model stuff - I've looked into this, but unfortunately it's impossible to get info about this from the game as we do not have any idea about the type of exporter they used to get the models from the modelling software into the game itself. I know they used 3DS Max software to create all the models (the same software I use professionally), but there's no hook in the plane code from this to make a back door into how the exporter works .

------------------
C/O, Jagdgeschwader 5 'Eismeer'

http://www.madasafish.com/jerry/jg5


Posts: 702 | From: Kingston-Upon-Thames, UK | Registered: Nov 1999  |  IP: Logged
JG300x_Hartmann
Member
Member # 1952

posted 01-21-2000 07:41 AM     Profile for JG300x_Hartmann   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post
Let me clarify....

There would be limitations such as gun calibre and rate of fire and velocity.
They would not be allowed to have SUPER PLANES!

There are ways to manipulate the code so it checks for certain limitations.

JG300x_Hartmann


Posts: 640 | From: Houston (Sugar Land), TX | Registered: Jan 2000  |  IP: Logged
-Totengräber-
Member
Member # 1868

posted 01-21-2000 08:18 AM     Profile for -Totengräber-   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post
Take a look: http://www.combatsim.com/htm/sept99/multi-edit.htm/
IMHO, the Quake style of on-line simulators makes people cheat.


Yours,
Totengräber


Posts: 11 | From: Tralfamadore, Asgard | Registered: Jan 2000  |  IP: Logged

All times are MST (US)  

   Open Topic    Move Topic    Delete Topic next oldest topic   next newest topic
Hop To:

Contact Us | COMBATSIM.COM Home

© COMBATSIM.COM, INC. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by Infopop Corporation
Ultimate Bulletin Board 6.04b

Sponsor
© 2014 COMBATSIM.COM - All Rights Reserved