my profile | register | search | faq | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
»  COMBATSIM.COM Forum Archive   » Game Discussions (Genre)   » Jets   » FS2.....S.O.S

   
Author Topic: FS2.....S.O.S
Phil47
Member
Member # 658

posted 12-09-1999 10:05 AM     Profile for Phil47     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Just got F2.
loaded it on.......Fine, but think I need a bit of a hand from some of you experts out there.
For the life of me I can't get it to work on my MS forcefeedback stick....Is that because It doesn't support it, or am I doing something wrong somewhere?
I'm gonna have to spend a bit of time with that manual.It's like a bloody novel..Ha Ha.

Another thing.How on earth do you fire a missile? I haven't had much time to look at the manual this week, but will try and digest some of it on the weekend..It seems to me that you can't just fire one off any old where and that you must have to get some sort of priority before a launch.....I did try one mission and got a lock on an airfield...A voice said "Permission to engage" or something like that and I cycled through the weapons , pressed the fire button but nothing happened.. I can get the cannon to work OK.
Also in LAYMENS TERMS PLEASE. What's all that in the settings about responses, noise and shift curvature of X Y Z and R axis...Simple terms please....I'm only a musician, not a nuclear physicist...It doesn't seem to explain it very well..Or maybe I,m just thick.....( Duhhh ).
I realize I've got a lot of reading and trial and error work to put in here, but a few tips would be helpful.
And one last question that springs to mind ( I'm sure I'll find plenty more )...Are the auto landings put in there for people who can't hack a real one or does the REAL LIFE Flanker have these supports....
thanks.... Phil.


Posts: 340 | From: | Registered: Oct 1999  |  IP: Logged
daveb
Member
Member # 173

posted 12-09-1999 11:37 AM     Profile for daveb   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Phil,
F2 doesn't support FF.
Try out the training missions.

Always remember you have to go looking for the bandits. And don't get disheartened -it's meant to be hard!
Look at the hud and move the round switch at the top of the stick up/down and left/right.
That'll move the radar around provided you have pressed the I key. (The I key engages the radar.) Just experiment with the 2 key, the I key and the round button on the stick to start with. And do those training missions a couple of times!
Also, try pressing the [ key and the ] key and see what they do!

------------------
Best wishes,
Dave B.


Posts: 613 | From: Windsor, UK | Registered: Sep 1999  |  IP: Logged
daveb
Member
Member # 173

posted 12-09-1999 11:40 AM     Profile for daveb   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Once you've done that, press the TAB key and see what happens. Lookup page 55 in the manual and don't be worried by the physics.

Happy cruisin!

------------------
Best wishes,
Dave B.


Posts: 613 | From: Windsor, UK | Registered: Sep 1999  |  IP: Logged
leafer
Member
Member # 6

posted 12-09-1999 01:45 PM     Profile for leafer   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Phil47,

You must have a lock on a bandit and the shoot cue "NP" on your HUD to fire A/A missiles. Hold down the 'Tab' key to lock TG and hold the trigger down to launch.

Certain parameter must be met before dropping bombs or firing A/G missiles. Here you will have to read the manual because some missiles or bombs need to be above certain alt and speed and AOA before you can drop or fire them. Say, you have a ship lock and wait and wait and wait but you’re not getting the “NP” cue, you’d probably need to push forward on the stick until the “NP” appears on the HUD. :0)

sawadee



Posts: 803 | From: Alhambra, CA U.S.A | Registered: Sep 1999  |  IP: Logged
leafer
Member
Member # 6

posted 12-09-1999 01:47 PM     Profile for leafer   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Oh and if you're too close to the TG you will not get a shoot cue "NP" in A2G.

[This message has been edited by leafer (edited 12-09-1999).]


Posts: 803 | From: Alhambra, CA U.S.A | Registered: Sep 1999  |  IP: Logged
Phil47
Member
Member # 658

posted 12-09-1999 05:25 PM     Profile for Phil47     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Thanks guys,
Haven't had time to try it tonight...Bloody guitar lessons all day and all evening, but will have a good crack at it tomorrow...
Do you think they will bring out a patch to support FF. Or isn't that possible?
I do so miss my bumpy wheels when I land... Can't tell how high I am bouncing...Ha Ha Ha.
See you all soon.
Fly straight..Phil

Posts: 340 | From: | Registered: Oct 1999  |  IP: Logged

All times are MST (US)  

   Close Topic    Move Topic    Delete Topic next oldest topic   next newest topic
Hop To:

Contact Us | COMBATSIM.COM Home

© COMBATSIM.COM, INC. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by Infopop Corporation
Ultimate Bulletin Board 6.04b

Sponsor
© 2014 COMBATSIM.COM - All Rights Reserved