my profile | register | search | faq | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
»  COMBATSIM.COM Forum Archive   » Archives   » Falcon 4.0 Archive 4   » Erazor Patch (Falcon 1.079 Release 9) = Great Frame Rate

   
Author Topic: Erazor Patch (Falcon 1.079 Release 9) = Great Frame Rate
Kamando
Member
Member # 6262

posted 11-07-2000 05:04 PM     Profile for Kamando   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
I recently installed Falcon 4.0 after some time off due to my very slow video card and system. I have since upgraded to an AMD 850Mhz T-bird with 128meg SDRAM and a GeForce 2 Ultra. With Hardware D3D T&L, in 1024x768x32 I am able to obtain around 70fps in 2D cockpit (B&S 2.2) and headsdown the framerate jumps to 200. Also I have noticed great frame-rates in 1600x1200x32 around 40-50fps I have tried forcing FSAA but it doesnt seem to do a whole lot... (probably has no effect in most of F4) I think I will remain in 1024x768 only because there are not any 1600x1200 realistic cockpits. It feels good to finally be free from the frame rate grabbing monster
Posts: 109 | From: | Registered: Aug 2000  |  IP: Logged
Overkill
Member
Member # 5169

posted 11-07-2000 06:39 PM     Profile for Overkill   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Are you sure that's not 1.0795? The latest release has not been issued. But I am happy to see you have nice frame rates. I couldn't use eRazor last exe because of a conflict with the custom pits, but I am hoping that is fixed with the latest exe.
Posts: 597 | From: Midlothian, TX, USA | Registered: Jun 2000  |  IP: Logged
Kamando
Member
Member # 6262

posted 11-07-2000 08:41 PM     Profile for Kamando   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
The release mentioned in the topic is correct.
Posts: 109 | From: | Registered: Aug 2000  |  IP: Logged
Rilex
Member
Member # 4494

posted 11-07-2000 08:46 PM     Profile for Rilex   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
You cannot use T&L and FSAA at the same time. That is why you're not noticing anything. Use the plain old D3D HAL and then enable FSAA, see how you like it.
Posts: 251 | From: Washington | Registered: Apr 2000  |  IP: Logged
Bard
Member
Member # 7187

posted 11-07-2000 09:00 PM     Profile for Bard   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
play at 1280x960 for a while, compare it to 1024x768, especially in ground attack missions.. i'm almost certain you won't go back to 1024x768, regardless of the cockpits
Posts: 170 | From: Vancouver Canada | Registered: Oct 2000  |  IP: Logged
Kobra
Member
Member # 5521

posted 11-07-2000 09:05 PM     Profile for Kobra   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Kamando,

Where do the rest of us get it?

Kobra, out.


Posts: 122 | From: Kalkaska, Michigan USA | Registered: Jul 2000  |  IP: Logged
FoxFour
Member
Member # 6540

posted 11-07-2000 10:40 PM     Profile for FoxFour   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
quote:
Originally posted by Kobra:
Kamando,
Where do the rest of us get it?
Kobra, out.

This version info is given in the readme of F4Patch 2.1.1 by Joel Bierling available on Joel Bierlings web page and other F4 utils dl places. But does it really contain the brand new eRazon execuatble?


Posts: 45 | From: Germany | Registered: Sep 2000  |  IP: Logged
Kamando
Member
Member # 6262

posted 11-08-2000 12:12 AM     Profile for Kamando   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
(Falcon 1.079 Release 9) is included in F4Patch 2.1.1 by Joel Bierling but(1.08eRAZOR_1.0795) is not included.


Posts: 109 | From: | Registered: Aug 2000  |  IP: Logged
Tazzman
Member
Member # 3306

posted 11-08-2000 03:31 AM     Profile for Tazzman   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
That must be a mistake. eRazor 1.0799 is NOT publicly available yet.

------------------

Tazz
87th Stray Dogs
"As good as it gets"

www.87th.org


Posts: 1647 | From: The Netherlands | Registered: Feb 2000  |  IP: Logged
eRAZOR
Member
Member # 4785

posted 11-08-2000 03:40 AM     Profile for eRAZOR   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
quote:
Originally posted by Tazzman:
That must be a mistake. eRazor 1.0799 is NOT publicly available yet.


1.0795 Rel 9 and 1.0799 are two different things.


Posts: 275 | From: | Registered: May 2000  |  IP: Logged
BadBen
Member
Member # 7755

posted 11-08-2000 01:02 PM     Profile for BadBen   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
quote:
Originally posted by Rilex:
You cannot use T&L and FSAA at the same time. That is why you're not noticing anything. Use the plain old D3D HAL and then enable FSAA, see how you like it.


If I turn on FSAA those this mean that T&L will turn off automacticly? Im use FSAA 2x Special with T&L enable. The image does look nicer.


Posts: 69 | From: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada | Registered: Nov 2000  |  IP: Logged
Tazzman
Member
Member # 3306

posted 11-08-2000 02:05 PM     Profile for Tazzman   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
eRazor, my bad.. I got confused

------------------

Tazz
87th Stray Dogs
"As good as it gets"

www.87th.org


Posts: 1647 | From: The Netherlands | Registered: Feb 2000  |  IP: Logged
Rilex
Member
Member # 4494

posted 11-08-2000 11:24 PM     Profile for Rilex   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
BadBen: No, FSAA will get turned off...I've seen this multiple times running DX7a/7.1. It'll run for awhile (or at least appear to), and then all of a sudden it'll look jagged...this is usually when you first turn on ground radar.
Posts: 251 | From: Washington | Registered: Apr 2000  |  IP: Logged
TKorho
Member
Member # 3215

posted 11-09-2000 08:23 PM     Profile for TKorho   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Rilex,
you must be mistaken. In the technology there is nothing that forces this. The thing is that when one uses high resolutions, the FSAA becomes impossible. Even on the ULTRAs. I think that current limit is 1280x ,since that four times is too much even for the 64MB cards.

In the actual T&L technology there is no such limit.

------------------
(V)LtCol Ghost - Hornet coder, snowboarder
87th Stray Dogs
[IMG]http://www.87th.org/images/logo-s.gif[/IMG]


Posts: 388 | From: Tampere, Finland | Registered: Feb 2000  |  IP: Logged
Rilex
Member
Member # 4494

posted 11-09-2000 08:28 PM     Profile for Rilex   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Errrr no I'm not mistaken.
If T&L is being used (at least, in eRazor's patch), FSAA will be disabled (but not always right away, which is odd...it will change in game). And I'm talking about using a resolution of 1024x768x32, easy for a 32MB card to handle at 2x2 low.
FSAA on the GeForce is done in hardware, and it is done in the same piece of hardware that will do T&L.

Posts: 251 | From: Washington | Registered: Apr 2000  |  IP: Logged
eRAZOR
Member
Member # 4785

posted 11-10-2000 02:17 AM     Profile for eRAZOR   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
quote:
Originally posted by TKorho:
Rilex,
you must be mistaken. In the technology there is nothing that forces this. The thing is that when one uses high resolutions, the FSAA becomes impossible. Even on the ULTRAs. I think that current limit is 1280x ,since that four times is too much even for the 64MB cards.

In the actual T&L technology there is no such limit.


Exactly.


Posts: 275 | From: | Registered: May 2000  |  IP: Logged

All times are MST (US)  

   Close Topic    Move Topic    Delete Topic next oldest topic   next newest topic
Hop To:

Contact Us | COMBATSIM.COM Home

COMBATSIM.COM, INC. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by Infopop Corporation
Ultimate Bulletin Board 6.04b

Sponsor
2014 COMBATSIM.COM - All Rights Reserved