my profile | register | search | faq | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
»  COMBATSIM.COM Forum Archive   » Game Discussions (Title-specific)   » MS Combat Flight Simulator 2   » Mission Building 101

   
Author Topic: Mission Building 101
Aviar
Member
Member # 3297

posted 12-05-2000 01:17 AM     Profile for Aviar   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
A little something for my fellow mission builders. When using 'smaller' planes like the SBD,TBD and the Kate as bombers, you may not always get the results you want.

Unfortunately, the game recognizes these planes as fighters, not bombers. So what? Well, if you set your enemy AI to 'Intercept Bombers', they won't. What I mean is, the AI will not pay special attention to them. To the AI they are just another fighter. If you have your escort fighters amongst your 'bombers', the AI will just attack the closest plane.

This is just one of many reasons people say "The AI in this game is stupid". True. But in this case it's because the developers chose to call an SBD a fighter instead of a bomber. Maybe it seems like a small thing on the surface but it can make a real difference in the gameplay.

People want to make the AI smarter. Well, these are the kind of small changes that might help the cause. If anyone knows how to solve this one small problem, please post here.

I already tried changing the 'type_id' & the 'unit_family' values in the .mis file. This works. The problem is that once you make a change in the mission builder, the values revert back to the default settings. This is not acceptable. If I post a mission\campaign, I can't expect people to not snoop around in the mission builder. One small change and the mission is ruined. We really need a fix that is permanent.

Aviar


Posts: 196 | From: Bergen County, NJ USA | Registered: Feb 2000  |  IP: Logged
kbedford
Member
Member # 1451

posted 12-05-2000 06:22 AM     Profile for kbedford   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Try modifying the
[MISC_DATA]
unit_family=1

entry in the aircrafts .dp file

if this works its still an incomplete solution as we would need duplicate folders? for dive-bombers etc.

The reason dive-bombers etc are defined as fighters is to make them attack ground-targets like fighters instead of straight and level like heavies.
Q: How do they fly in your modified missions?

Can you set half the fighter formations to attack fightes and half to attack bombers?

One solution is to use my (soon to be released) CfsMe editor which allows tweaking without reverting any settings to defaults, and you can define unit_family as required.

Cheers,
Keith


Posts: 71 | From: Hemel Hempstead,UK | Registered: Dec 1999  |  IP: Logged
Aviar
Member
Member # 3297

posted 12-05-2000 11:01 AM     Profile for Aviar   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Keith,

I did not mention it but I also changed the .dp file. This change was also reset just like the others.

Aviar


Posts: 196 | From: Bergen County, NJ USA | Registered: Feb 2000  |  IP: Logged

All times are MST (US)  

   Close Topic    Move Topic    Delete Topic next oldest topic   next newest topic
Hop To:

Contact Us | COMBATSIM.COM Home

COMBATSIM.COM, INC. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by Infopop Corporation
Ultimate Bulletin Board 6.04b

Sponsor
2014 COMBATSIM.COM - All Rights Reserved