my profile | register | search | faq | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
»  COMBATSIM.COM Forum Archive   » Game Discussions (Title-specific)   » MS Combat Flight Simulator 2   » Stutter and RAM. I've read the board but...

Author Topic: Stutter and RAM. I've read the board but...
PGT
Member # 7967

posted 11-14-2000 09:47 PM     Profile for PGT   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Hello everyone,

First of all, I'm no techie but I'm conversant with the basics. I'm new to this board as well as lots of other things cyber. New computer, new OS (jumped to Me from 3.1), and CFS2, my first sim in years - first ever for Windows. I've been browsing this board for a couple of days and have been most impressed by the enthusiasm and expertise I've seen even though there are occasional differences of opinion <cough>.

I'm running CFS2 at 1024x768x32 with pretty much everything except anti-aliasing turned up and it blows me away! I have no complaints about frame rate but I do experience the stutter that others have complained about. It isn't horrible, occuring mostly at the beginning of a flight and when approaching/shooting down the enemy the first time but it's an annoyance that I'd like to eliminate given what I've just spent on my first new computer in ages. And I haven't moved beyond flight lessons and quick combat so I don't know how bad the problem might be in more complex scenarios.

I've convinced myself that the stutter isn't related to sound probs; turning sound off doesn't change things that I can notice and I've tried most of the suggestions I've seen about changing sound settings. So, I think the sound card is doing its job. Also, increasing the scenery cache and turning the auto LOD off seem to have no effect.