my profile | register | search | faq | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
»  COMBATSIM.COM Forum Archive   » Game Discussions (Title-specific)   » MS Combat Flight Simulator 2   » Flying other aircraft...HELP!

   
Author Topic: Flying other aircraft...HELP!
Hornit
Member
Member # 962

posted 11-07-2000 12:12 PM     Profile for Hornit   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Ok I need someone with patience to tell me exactly, step by step, what to do to get these flyable add-on aircraft in the aircraft menu so I can go try em out! Please be specific about what to do. I have Wells 1.7 currently installed for the FM's.

Thx

Hornit


Posts: 955 | From: USA | Registered: Nov 1999  |  IP: Logged
davido53
Member
Member # 7121

posted 11-07-2000 02:55 PM     Profile for davido53   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
hornit,

check the thread above by void_hawk...

it should explain the process...


Posts: 61 | From: Cincinnati OH | Registered: Oct 2000  |  IP: Logged
Hornit
Member
Member # 962

posted 11-07-2000 04:13 PM     Profile for Hornit   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Ok the way i understand it is i need to go grab a panel and sound folder from any other "working" aircraft then put them in the new flyable aircraft folder. Is this correct? How does that make it flyable in the selection menu?

I really would like someone to post a step by step explanation in detail...how hard can that be?

Hornit


Posts: 955 | From: USA | Registered: Nov 1999  |  IP: Logged
MagenDavid
Member
Member # 3784

posted 11-07-2000 06:09 PM     Profile for MagenDavid   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Hornit,

Unzip Wells FMs 1.7.
U should see a list of folders with the same names of the aircraft in the CFS2/ Aircraft folder. The zip file doesn't have all the aircraft of course, juz those which Wells has modified which are some flyables and AI aircaft). Copy and paste the unzipped folders as they are into the CFS2/Aircaft folder. The contents of the folders (mainly .dp and ,air files) will replace the originals. So make a back up of your CFS2/Aircraft first.

Now, when u start the game, you shoul dbe able to select planes like Dauntless/Devastator/Liberator etc. There's no panels for the AI aircraft in Wells FM v1.7. So u'd have to get these else where if u want them n follow their setup instructions which is basically to copy some files into the Gauges folder and add a Panel folder in the aircaft name folders. But u can still fly the AI without panels.

Hope this helps.


Posts: 413 | From: | Registered: Mar 2000  |  IP: Logged
Hornit
Member
Member # 962

posted 11-07-2000 10:05 PM     Profile for Hornit   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Ok this is not a step by step instruction and I don't understand the part about unzipped folders going into the aircraft folder. How can a zipped file replace an unzipped one? Another question I have is where are you unzipping this too? Wells instructions have you extract it to the CFS 2 folder and overwrite the existing files, thats how I did it.Here is what I have done.

1.Downloaded Wells 1.7
2.Backed up my existing CFS 2 aircraft folder
3.Unzipped the contents per his instructions into the CFS 2 aircraft folder.
4. Copied an existing panels and sound folder into the aircraft folder I wish to fly.

Still no flyable aircraft other than what shipped...Please include DETAILED instructions not just generalities, thx

this can't be that hard!

Hornit

[This message has been edited by Hornit (edited 11-07-2000).]


Posts: 955 | From: USA | Registered: Nov 1999  |  IP: Logged
MagenDavid
Member
Member # 3784

posted 11-07-2000 10:31 PM     Profile for MagenDavid   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
1. make backup of cfs2/aircraft folder. u should make backup of cfs2/gauges folder also.

2. to avoid confusion, unzip wells fm 1.7 into any folder first, say My Documents. u should see a bunch of folders with aircraft names identical to the ones in cfs2/aircraft. these folders contain the modified .dp and .air files. (if unzipping gives u more zip files, juz unzip those zip files also.)

3. now u can simply cut n paste these aircraft named folders in My Documents into the cfs2/aircraft folder. that should overwrite the original .dp n .air files for the various aircraft RESPECTIVELY. (don't do a direct unzip of wells fm1.7 into cfs2. that tends to confuse things.)

4. wells fm1.7 doesn't include panels. so if u want panels for say Dauntless, u'd have to look for 3rd party Gauges for it and copy them into the cfs2/gauges folder. u'll also have to add the 3rd party panel folder into the cfs2/aricraft/'dauntless' folder.

5. now when u play the game, u should b able to select Dauntless, Devastator etc. but no panels, juz the cross hairs unless u got the guages/panel addon.


phew.. i don't know if i could be clearer. hope u get it right.

cheers


Posts: 413 | From: | Registered: Mar 2000  |  IP: Logged

All times are MST (US)  

   Close Topic    Move Topic    Delete Topic next oldest topic   next newest topic
Hop To:

Contact Us | COMBATSIM.COM Home

COMBATSIM.COM, INC. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by Infopop Corporation
Ultimate Bulletin Board 6.04b

Sponsor
2014 COMBATSIM.COM - All Rights Reserved