my profile | register | search | faq | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
»  COMBATSIM.COM Forum Archive   » Game Discussions (Title-specific)   » MS Combat Flight Simulator 2   » Honest Comparison Needed

Author Topic: Honest Comparison Needed
PipsPriller
Member # 5824

posted 11-06-2000 06:23 AM     Profile for PipsPriller   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
When a new game comes out there is always unbridled enthusiasm for it. It's natural. Especially when it deals with a theatre that has been ignored for several years, but has been eagerly awaited.

Such is the case of CFS2. And looking through the threads here it's obvious that, on the whole, folks are enjoying it.

But really, how good is it? I've been flying sims for several years and along the way have collected EAW, Mig Alley, RB3D, CFS1 with Pacific Theatre and Battle for Midway add-ons, SDOE, PAW, Sabre Ace, and Air Warrior III.

Only EAW, RB3D and Mig Alley have survived. Why? There are a number of reasons but basically they come down to the following:

a) Immersiveness - roughly 2 years down the track and I still thoroughly enjoy flying these sims. Whereas the others mentioned above would have been lucky to have lasted more than a couple of months.

b) Dynamic campaigns - of which I would say that RB3D is probably the most complete package. With the control offered by Mig a close second.

c) Support - more for EAW and RB3D than Mig, by the developers, but even Rowan did 2 patch upgrades for Mig. Microsoft didn't do any for CFS (a shame, it could have saved the sim) and Tucker Hatfield has been quoted in an artical recently saying that a patch is not required for CFS2. Now thats a worry considering all the problems that have been highlighted in this forum.

d) Reality - without getting into an argument about Flight Models these 3 games perform as realitically as one could expect out of a box.