my profile | register | search | faq | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
»  COMBATSIM.COM Forum Archive   » Game Discussions (Title-specific)   » MS Combat Flight Simulator 2   » Crack Question

   
Author Topic: Crack Question
Mk10 225th
Member
Member # 7259

posted 11-02-2000 11:23 AM     Profile for Mk10 225th   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Was on Kali talking to some guys, and they advised the CD crack was needed for online play there.

I installed it, and got a scenery.cfg error, and got the message I'd need to re-install CFS 2.

I went ahead and tried it without CD, and I have scenery and everything.

Do you take any hit on FPS using the crack?

If I run with CD #2, will it "read" it if it's there, or if I'm running the crack, will it not recognize it at all?

Is there any benefit to running with CD #2 vs. running with the crack, and if I don't want to run with crack, do I need to completely re-install CFS 2?

Thanks in advance to all the people out there smarter than me, and putting up with silly questions.

Mk10 Maj=225th=


Posts: 30 | From: | Registered: Oct 2000  |  IP: Logged
Holliday
Member
Member # 3308

posted 11-02-2000 11:29 AM     Profile for Holliday   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
I CD crack most of my games just for convenience sake and have never had a problem. Frame rates canít be affected because without the crack the CD is accessed only at the start, then never again. This is assuming of course you did a full install. Make sure to replace your desktop shortcut with a shortcut to the cracked exe.
Posts: 139 | From: Wilmington NC USA | Registered: Feb 2000  |  IP: Logged
MikeToth
Member
Member # 762

posted 11-02-2000 01:00 PM     Profile for MikeToth   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
MK10,

There's no such thing as a silly question:


Only a silly answer.........


I am using the crack and have had no probs....


Have fun

Mike


Posts: 219 | From: Cleveland, Ohio USA | Registered: Oct 1999  |  IP: Logged
Blond_Knight
Member
Member # 67

posted 11-02-2000 01:27 PM     Profile for Blond_Knight     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
The crack is NOT a shortcut, in order for it to work you must place it in the CFS2 folder overwriting the original.

My apologies for the confusion, but I wanted to get it out as soon as possible and so when it was initially released it didnt have a README. The copy on my site as well as the copies at gamecopyworld and combatfs now have a README to eliminate further confusion.

------------------
See-Decide-Attack-Reverse


Posts: 1093 | From: Richmond Va - Capital of the Confederacy | Registered: Sep 1999  |  IP: Logged
Mk10 225th
Member
Member # 7259

posted 11-02-2000 02:41 PM     Profile for Mk10 225th   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Hey guys, thanks for your responses.

Yeah, when I installed it, it asked if it could overwrite the current .exe file, and I thought, "Oh hell, my life is crap anyway, go ahead..." and let it overwrite it.

Then I got the scenery.cfg message saying I'd have to re-install, but it looks like that didn't really mean anything.

I was just mainly wondering if using the crack could impair FPS in any way, but it doesn't seem like it can from you fellows are saying.

Thanks again for the responses!

Mk10 Maj=225th=


Posts: 30 | From: | Registered: Oct 2000  |  IP: Logged

All times are MST (US)  

   Close Topic    Move Topic    Delete Topic next oldest topic   next newest topic
Hop To:

Contact Us | COMBATSIM.COM Home

© COMBATSIM.COM, INC. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by Infopop Corporation
Ultimate Bulletin Board 6.04b

Sponsor
© 2014 COMBATSIM.COM - All Rights Reserved