my profile | register | search | faq | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
»  COMBATSIM.COM Forum Archive   » Game Discussions (Title-specific)   » MS Combat Flight Simulator 2   » Best mid-range video card for this sim

   
Author Topic: Best mid-range video card for this sim
Kite
Member
Member # 569

posted 10-14-2000 10:28 AM     Profile for Kite   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
I am running CFS2 with an Athlon 500 and a Diamond Fusion video card. I know, it is dated! It runs kind of OK, but I get video problems when switching from flight to menus, or running the mission editor: one common problem is that the mouse dissapears.

Any suggestions??

Maybe it is time to upgrade. With my system, what would be the best mid range ($100-150) to run this sim. I was thinking of a Geforce MX based card. Any suggestions?


Posts: 12 | From: | Registered: Oct 1999  |  IP: Logged
Bigshot
Member
Member # 4

posted 10-14-2000 01:21 PM     Profile for Bigshot   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
I've currently got a TNTv4400 PII450. I love everything maxed out; but am now noticing some slowdown when the sky gets full of aircraft. I'm gonna go get a Diamond Viper TNT2 Ultra. I think they're priced pretty good now. I'm also gonna add another block of ram to my current 128mgs. I don't have the processing power for a GeForce and don't want to mess up my EAW debriefing screens.

------------------
The only thing FREE in this world is "LONG DISTANCE TELEPHONE CALLS" at dialpad.com HEHEHEHE


Posts: 1291 | From: Suttons Bay, MI, USA | Registered: Sep 1999  |  IP: Logged
ScabFace
Member
Member # 609

posted 10-14-2000 04:07 PM     Profile for ScabFace   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
How about a GeForce/32; shouldn't be very expensive now? Mine wasn't.
ScabFace

Posts: 92 | From: San Diego, CA | Registered: Oct 1999  |  IP: Logged
Bigshot
Member
Member # 4

posted 10-14-2000 04:38 PM     Profile for Bigshot   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
The GeForce will mess up the briefings in EAW. What would I gain by going GeForce 32 rather than the TNT Ultra. My processor is PII450.

------------------
The only thing FREE in this world is "LONG DISTANCE TELEPHONE CALLS" at dialpad.com HEHEHEHE


Posts: 1291 | From: Suttons Bay, MI, USA | Registered: Sep 1999  |  IP: Logged
Buster Brown
Member
Member # 6559

posted 10-14-2000 05:20 PM     Profile for Buster Brown   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
I have a new GE Force 2 card and my debriefing screens in EAW are just fine. I had read the same thing as you but was willing to sacrifice the screen for better graphics. Now I have both! No problems to report here.

------------------
Eat more Possum :)


Posts: 883 | From: Hot Springs, Arkansas | Registered: Sep 2000  |  IP: Logged
Seawolf
Member
Member # 1787

posted 10-14-2000 06:43 PM     Profile for Seawolf   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Ummmmm, How about a new processor?????!!!!!!

You guys fail to realize flight sims rely more on processor and ramm than on Vid card.

If I use a Athlon 500Mhz and a GF2GTS I get the same performance as if i used a TNT2 or Voodoo3. Not saying you shouldn't upgrade the vid card because a new card will enhance colors and with the V5 the FSAA is amazing, but as far as FPS you need to update the processor for the biggest increase.


Posts: 1322 | From: Clearwater, Fl. USA | Registered: Jan 2000  |  IP: Logged
Casey
Member
Member # 873

posted 10-14-2000 07:02 PM     Profile for Casey   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
I'm getting around 30-35 fps in HUD view with most graphics settings a notch away from maximum.

(500 MHz, 256MB, Voodoo3 3000)


Posts: 636 | From: America | Registered: Nov 1999  |  IP: Logged
Pasha
Member
Member # 3391

posted 10-14-2000 09:21 PM     Profile for Pasha   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
GeForce GTS..

32megs, $99.00, overclock it like any other..
www.pricewatch.com

Pasha


Posts: 461 | From: | Registered: Feb 2000  |  IP: Logged

All times are MST (US)  

   Close Topic    Move Topic    Delete Topic next oldest topic   next newest topic
Hop To:

Contact Us | COMBATSIM.COM Home

COMBATSIM.COM, INC. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by Infopop Corporation
Ultimate Bulletin Board 6.04b

Sponsor
2014 COMBATSIM.COM - All Rights Reserved