my profile | register | search | faq | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
»  COMBATSIM.COM Forum Archive   » Game Discussions (Title-specific)   » MS Combat Flight Simulator 2   » Sound problems

   
Author Topic: Sound problems
Grinch2020
Member
Member # 7109

posted 10-13-2000 10:28 PM     Profile for Grinch2020   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
For some reason I am having sound problems. Everything seems to be ok except for the mahine gun sounds and the radio chatter. Even the instructor in the tutorials sounds ok. One time it worked fine for awhile and then all of the sudden went bad agin. Anyone have this problem or have any idea how to fix it? Thanks for any info
Posts: 50 | From: | Registered: Oct 2000  |  IP: Logged
rsalo
Member
Member # 1722

posted 10-13-2000 10:34 PM     Profile for rsalo   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Just curious Grinch2020, do you have an actual sound card or is it intergrated?
Posts: 340 | From: | Registered: Jan 2000  |  IP: Logged
Grinch2020
Member
Member # 7109

posted 10-13-2000 10:47 PM     Profile for Grinch2020   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Well thats a good question I dont know, I bought the system as a whole unit so im guessing there is a good chance that it is integrated. Im loading the game onto another computer right now to check if it may be software related. BTW its an ESS Allegro-1 sound card if this means anything to you I havent had any problems in the past with this card though
Posts: 50 | From: | Registered: Oct 2000  |  IP: Logged
MikeToth
Member
Member # 762

posted 10-14-2000 03:44 AM     Profile for MikeToth   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Hi guys,

I have experienced the same thing.. I have one of those integrated Yamaha OPL3-SAx sound cards.... what happens is that when I start a mission, the sound is really OK but sounds a bit muffled, I hit escape and then it asks me if I want to end, I say NO and then the full stereo sound kicks in for some reason and then it is fine,,,,, other than this that's the only annoyance (small) that I could find.... it is AWESOME in every other fashion though,


Anybody have any suggestions as to a fix for us????

Thanks

Mike


Posts: 219 | From: Cleveland, Ohio USA | Registered: Oct 1999  |  IP: Logged
Pasha
Member
Member # 3391

posted 10-14-2000 04:56 AM     Profile for Pasha   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Try editing your cfs.cfg file entry here:


[SOUND]
Channels=1
SamplesPerSec=44100
BitsPerSample=16

The default is 11250 x 8

May have a little to do with it, your card may do better @ 22050 or 44100.


Pasha


Posts: 461 | From: | Registered: Feb 2000  |  IP: Logged
Spin Doctor
Member
Member # 77

posted 10-15-2000 02:22 PM     Profile for Spin Doctor   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Thanks Pasha. I was having some sound problems also and your suggestion cleared it right up.
Posts: 321 | From: Lusby, Md | Registered: Sep 1999  |  IP: Logged
zombie
Member
Member # 2776

posted 10-18-2000 05:36 AM     Profile for zombie   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Same problem here - Pasha's suggestion worked for me too! Pasha, YOU DA MAN!
Posts: 28 | From: Toledo, OH | Registered: Jan 2000  |  IP: Logged

All times are MST (US)  

   Close Topic    Move Topic    Delete Topic next oldest topic   next newest topic
Hop To:

Contact Us | COMBATSIM.COM Home

COMBATSIM.COM, INC. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by Infopop Corporation
Ultimate Bulletin Board 6.04b

Sponsor
2014 COMBATSIM.COM - All Rights Reserved