my profile | register | search | faq | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
»  COMBATSIM.COM Forum Archive   » Game Discussions (Title-specific)   » MS Combat Flight Simulator 2   » Will this run fairly smooth on a 500 mhz and a V3?

   
Author Topic: Will this run fairly smooth on a 500 mhz and a V3?
Grinch2020
Member
Member # 7109

posted 10-09-2000 11:53 PM     Profile for Grinch2020   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Just wondering ifthe game will be worth it on a system like this. Oh I also have 128 MB RAM. Thanks for any info
Posts: 50 | From: | Registered: Oct 2000  |  IP: Logged
FishHawk
Member
Member # 6744

posted 10-10-2000 12:55 AM     Profile for FishHawk   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
It should run fine

fh


Posts: 93 | From: USA | Registered: Sep 2000  |  IP: Logged
Jedi Master
Member
Member # 3223

posted 10-10-2000 07:45 AM     Profile for Jedi Master   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Where "fine" means "15-20fps when little is going on."
The Jedi Master

Posts: 477 | From: Coral Springs, FL, USA | Registered: Feb 2000  |  IP: Logged
Swampthing
Member
Member # 388

posted 10-10-2000 09:41 AM     Profile for Swampthing   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Try more like 20-30 FPS standard on that system. I tried this game on my worst system and it still got at least that.
Posts: 285 | From: | Registered: Sep 1999  |  IP: Logged
Fishbed77
Member
Member # 1035

posted 10-10-2000 05:56 PM     Profile for Fishbed77   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Woo Hoo!! To me, "good graphics" mean at least an average of about 25 FPS on my system (a lowly PII 333 with Voodoo3).
Posts: 157 | From: | Registered: Nov 1999  |  IP: Logged
Jedi Master
Member
Member # 3223

posted 10-10-2000 08:06 PM     Profile for Jedi Master   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Well, all I can say is with a V5-5500 and 256MB RAM, my P3-450 still struggles with F4, which came out almost 2 years ago when this was a FAST machine. I don't even recall if P3's were available yet in late '98!
Thanks to RAM and video I've taken this PC as far as it will go, but the end is nigh, twilight is upon it, and soon night will fall. That is the way of things. The way of PC upgrades.
The Jedi Master

Posts: 477 | From: Coral Springs, FL, USA | Registered: Feb 2000  |  IP: Logged
Swampthing
Member
Member # 388

posted 10-10-2000 08:32 PM     Profile for Swampthing   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Lemme clarify a bit, I actually HAVE the game and these are actual frame rates. This thing runs ten times better than falcon4. even as low as 15fps feels smooth in this whereas in falcon that's a slideshow.
Posts: 285 | From: | Registered: Sep 1999  |  IP: Logged
Jedi Master
Member
Member # 3223

posted 10-11-2000 09:18 AM     Profile for Jedi Master   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
That's the other thing that bugs me. FPS is not standard! 15 can be a slideshow in one program and just fine in another! What benchmarks are left!!?!?
The Jedi Master

Posts: 477 | From: Coral Springs, FL, USA | Registered: Feb 2000  |  IP: Logged

All times are MST (US)  

   Close Topic    Move Topic    Delete Topic next oldest topic   next newest topic
Hop To:

Contact Us | COMBATSIM.COM Home

İ COMBATSIM.COM, INC. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by Infopop Corporation
Ultimate Bulletin Board 6.04b

Sponsor
İ 2014 COMBATSIM.COM - All Rights Reserved