my profile | register | search | faq | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
»  COMBATSIM.COM Forum Archive   » Game Discussions (Genre)   » Helos   » LB2 no cd patch?

Author Topic: LB2 no cd patch?
new guy10
unregistered

posted 12-12-2000 08:28 AM       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Hi all, I just re-installed LB2 (great sim!) and I was wondering if anybody is using a no-cd patch for it? If so, where can I find it? Not that big a deal really, just curious.

later
new guy

IP: Logged
Simracer
unregistered

posted 12-12-2000 09:37 AM       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Hi,

I have looked for it myself, but couldn't find it, but as I have some basic knowledge of "hex patching" I have made a limited patch myself. The only thing is that this kind of patching is mostly called "cracking" and is illigal and therefore I can't give you the instructions how to do it here.

No-CD on LB2 is limited to (mine anyway) starting the game and playing missions in the currently installed area (NTC or AZR), but if you play NTC and want to play a mission in AZR you need CD2 anyway to decompess it to the HD. To be able to play it totally without the CD requires bigger changes to the EXE, or you can use a file called "HatchetsNoDecompC" which you can find
on one of the best supported LB2 sites together with a NO-CD patch. The problem with this approach is that it takes maybe a GIG of space on your disk...

Ahh...one last note there could be a possibility to use a program called "Virtual CD 2000" or similar to get rid of the CD, but I haven't checked it.

Good luck!

cya

IP: Logged
Skybird
Member # 4668

posted 12-12-2000 01:32 PM     Profile for Skybird   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Well, I LOVE to hear that CD swirling around in the drive - reminds my of a working rotor...

Posts: 208 | From: Münster, Germany | Registered: May 2000  |  IP: Logged
+G
Member # 6747