my profile | register | search | faq | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
»  COMBATSIM.COM Forum Archive   » Game Discussions (Genre)   » Helos   » New helo pilot hover problem

Author Topic: New helo pilot hover problem
graemejward
Member # 2040

posted 04-06-2000 03:37 PM     Profile for graemejward   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
I'm going to start this thread with an apology.
Sorry for asking such a daft question but I can't get to grip with this hovering technique.
As I mentioned in a earlier posting in this forum I'm a converted flight sim pilot.
Every time I play this sim It blows me away, what a fantastic game.
Anyway I've been reading the manual,doing some cross over training (plane to helo),and I was attempting to try some of the basic techniques I had been reading about in the ground school section.
Every time I start to climb my helo goes forward, I'm not touching the cyclic stick.
Now this might be the way it is suppose to go, but I got the impression from reading the manual that the helo just keeps climbing until you move the cyclic stick.
I thought it might be my stick, so I attempted it with keyboard arrow keys as the cyclic controls.
The same thing happened again, shoot forward the moment it left the ground.
I have been messing about for a while trying to get this technique and I'm no better now as I was then.
Is there something I'm missing?
Again I apologies to all you pros out there for asking a pretty basic question but any help would be greatly appreciated.
Greame.
By the way I'm flying the Hokum.

Posts: 41 | From: Glasgow | Registered: Jan 2000  |  IP: Logged
TetsuBo
Member # 330

posted 04-06-2000 03:44 PM     Profile for TetsuBo   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote