Topic Closed  Topic Closed


  
my profile | register | search | faq | forum home

 
next oldest topic   next newest topic
»  COMBATSIM.COM Forum Archive   » Archives   » EAW Archive 1   » European Air War Stab Version 1.2 Released

   
Author Topic: European Air War Stab Version 1.2 Released
matttm
Member
Member # 662

posted 02-09-2000 02:27 AM     Profile for matttm   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post
Meine Damen und Herren,

You may now download EAW Stab 1.2.

The URL is http://www.ozemail.com.au/~matttm/eaw/download.html

PLEASE read the ReadMe.txt for upgrade/installation instructions and useful information about the application.

Hope you like this one.

Matt.

[This message has been edited by matttm (edited 02-09-2000).]


Posts: 692 | From: Sydney, Australia | Registered: Oct 1999  |  IP: Logged
Edwin Rommel
Member
Member # 357

posted 02-09-2000 02:33 AM     Profile for Edwin Rommel   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post
Herr MattM

Ich am placing a litlle carved icon in your likeness next to the one of Charles, Paulo, Cristopher Coon und ze Lab rat.

May you live forever!

Danke for the effort!

E.R.


Posts: 4399 | From: Dusty Oasis, Nord Afrika | Registered: Sep 1999  |  IP: Logged
Gen Savage
Member
Member # 585

posted 02-09-2000 08:06 AM     Profile for Gen Savage   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post
Speaking of the Lab Rat-he seems to be M.I.A., does he not?
Posts: 1642 | From: Houston, Tx USA | Registered: Oct 1999  |  IP: Logged
smokin
Member
Member # 632

posted 02-09-2000 10:24 AM     Profile for smokin   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post
many thanks for the work you've put in for the community here Matt.
Posts: 440 | From: U.S. of A. | Registered: Oct 1999  |  IP: Logged
Pharaoh
Member
Member # 1123

posted 02-09-2000 10:41 AM     Profile for Pharaoh   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post
Thanks Matt!

I think I can speak for the whole EAW community in expressing gratitude for your efforts in making a great game fantastic!

Eternally grateful!

Mike Sherman / Lt.Pharaoh 56FG

------------------
"A mind is like a parachute; it only functions when it is open." Sir Lewis Dewar

One step further, "I may not agree with what you say but will fight to the death for your right to say it"


Posts: 2180 | From: Harrison, AR,USA | Registered: Nov 1999  |  IP: Logged
barryw
Member
Member # 1683

posted 02-09-2000 10:58 AM     Profile for barryw   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post
Superb! A labor of love and much appreciated.....
Posts: 445 | From: Westport. Mass | Registered: Jan 2000  |  IP: Logged
No609OzZiggy
Member
Member # 2890

posted 02-09-2000 11:19 AM     Profile for No609OzZiggy   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post
Thanks matt ..your a star
Posts: 109 | From: germany | Registered: Feb 2000  |  IP: Logged
matttm
Member
Member # 662

posted 02-09-2000 03:20 PM     Profile for matttm   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post
Thank you Gentleman!

I was a little late posting last night (only 30 minutes) as I found a last minute upgrade bug that I had to rapidly fix before I uploaded.

One thing I think I forgot to add to the ReadMe. When you choose the 'Set Active Career' option, it will only list 10 careers.

Donster, can I have my girls now, can I, ha ha?????

Matt.


Posts: 692 | From: Sydney, Australia | Registered: Oct 1999  |  IP: Logged
Gambler_78th
Member
Member # 1883

posted 02-09-2000 05:01 PM     Profile for Gambler_78th   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post
Matt,
I can only echo the sentiments already displayed here in thanking you for this fabulous addition. I've spent most of the day moving skins into the different terrain/skins sets and it has worked flawlessly. I do have one question. In version 1.1, if I remember right, you could add folders for additional terrain. Since the release of the North Africa terrain, can you do this in version 1.2?

Gambler_78th


Posts: 175 | From: Area 69 - Secret airbase in the Arizona desert | Registered: Jan 2000  |  IP: Logged
matttm
Member
Member # 662

posted 02-09-2000 05:29 PM     Profile for matttm   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post
Gambler,

Thanks for the compliment.

Who has been a naughty, naughty boy and not read the ReadMe!!!!

The answer to your questions is Yes. In the ReadMe, I describe how to add additional Terrain sets with the example being 'East Front'. Follow the example making your Terrain set 'North Africa' instead. By default only five Terrain sets are written to the EAWSTAB.INI but you can have 25! Once the first five are used up, just keep adding more using the same syntax.

i.e.
Terrain6=xxxxxxx
Seasons6=0 (or =1 if it has four seasons)

etc, etc upto:

Terrain25=xxxxxx
Seasons25=0

You will need to manully create the sub-folders under 'Terrain' and 'Skins' folders.

Hopefully, the ReadMe explains it clearly enough???

Matt.


Posts: 692 | From: Sydney, Australia | Registered: Oct 1999  |  IP: Logged
Gambler_78th
Member
Member # 1883

posted 02-09-2000 05:41 PM     Profile for Gambler_78th   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post
Matt,
Busted! I was in such a hurry to install it and get all the terrains/skins in and try them out, I didn't read the entire Read Me. Thanks for the help.

Gambler_78th


Posts: 175 | From: Area 69 - Secret airbase in the Arizona desert | Registered: Jan 2000  |  IP: Logged
Der Sensenmann
Member
Member # 1979

posted 02-09-2000 07:35 PM     Profile for Der Sensenmann   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post
Danke, Matt. I love Stab so much that I load it at start-up. A very useful utility.

------------------
Fear the Reaper


Posts: 73 | From: Falls Church, VA | Registered: Jan 2000  |  IP: Logged
Energizer
Member
Member # 3061

posted 02-11-2000 07:25 AM     Profile for Energizer   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post
Ok, here I go, showing my ignorance again..... what is this Stab 1.2, and what does it do? Here I am, trying to tweak my clean EAW, and I'm soooooo confused.

------------------
Energizer
Don't get vertigo, I'll be there


Posts: 76 | From: Springfield, MO, USA | Registered: Feb 2000  |  IP: Logged
JWC
Member
Member # 116

posted 02-11-2000 10:49 AM     Profile for JWC     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post
S! Energizer

[...what is this Stab 1.2, and what does it do?]

"Stab 1.2" is a fabulous program designed by EAW Forum member mattm which does a couple of things. Primarily, it allows you to automatically switch between different add-on terrains. Let's say that you have downloaded and installed 3 different sets of terrain for EAW. For this example, let's say that those are the "Enhanced", or "darker and richer" EAW terrain, the "Autumn" terrain, and the snowy "Winter" terrain. Your career begins in Spring, so you could use the default EAW terrain then. But as your career advances into Summer, EAW Stab 1.2 will automatically change the terrain to the darker "summer" textures, beginning with one mission date. When it's time for Fall, the terrain automatically switches to the "Autumn" set. And when your career has progressed into winter, EAW Stab 1.2 changes you over to a snow-covered landscape!

The 1.2 version of Stab allows you to configure terrain sets for different careers! Furthermore, you can also change terrain manually if you wish to fly, say a Single Mission, outside of your careers.

The second thing that EAW Stab 1.2 does is allow you to launch other applications from it. If you have some of the other add-ons, like ECA Control Panel, Scorpion's Enabler, EAW Control, etc., you can eliminate the need for 4 or 5 different icons on your Desktop. Instead you can just Stab and have one icon. Launch Stab and choose which other application you want to open.


Posts: 1633 | From: College Station, Texas, USA | Registered: Sep 1999  |  IP: Logged
Vexi
Member
Member # 1904

posted 02-11-2000 10:59 AM     Profile for Vexi   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post
Thanks Matt.It is great.
Posts: 107 | From: Finland | Registered: Jan 2000  |  IP: Logged
Hun Hunter
Member
Member # 448

posted 02-12-2000 04:18 PM     Profile for Hun Hunter   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post
Great work once again Matt. Am I never going to get tired of this sim and the quality add-ons that keep coming out for it?!!

------------------
Tally Ho!


Posts: 1304 | From: In a water tight cavern under Sydney Harbour Bridge | Registered: Sep 1999  |  IP: Logged
Donster
Member
Member # 196

posted 02-12-2000 05:10 PM     Profile for Donster   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post
Matt,

I set up The New and Improved Stab. Pput pacific skins in pacskin folder.Have pacterrain in pacific folder. Flew a few missions. Went back into Stab, selected Channel Front. Loaded Summer terrain. Restarted EAW. Select single mission, type of a\c, select mission parameters, try to set primary and secondary a\c (should now be German a\c, and it still lists the Tony and Zero from the pacific. I shut down EAW, open EAW folder, and there are no Japanese skins loaded in EAW. Any Ideas?

Donster


Posts: 10794 | From: Cedar Rapids, Iowa USA | Registered: Sep 1999  |  IP: Logged
Energizer
Member
Member # 3061

posted 02-12-2000 05:48 PM     Profile for Energizer   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post
Thanks, JWC, and cudo's to MattM, simply wonderful stuff. I'm learning so much in a very short amount of time. I've been so busy downloading and installing, I haven't flown a mission in three days. Dammit, I feel the need for speed (relatively speaking, hee hee).

------------------
Energizer
So many targets, so little ammunition......


Posts: 76 | From: Springfield, MO, USA | Registered: Feb 2000  |  IP: Logged
matttm
Member
Member # 662

posted 02-13-2000 03:16 PM     Profile for matttm   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post
Donster,

By default, Copying Skins is DISABLED. You need to go into 'Configure EAW Stab' dialog and select 'Copy Skins when Terrain changes take effect'. Once you exit the dialog, select a season (any season if using the Pacific Terrain Set which has only one set of TER files).

And another note:

If Seasonsx=0 is in the INI file, then Terrain and Skins are expected to be found in the Terrain Set folder (i.e. ..\Pacific ). If Seasonsx=1 is in the INI file, then Terrain and Skins are expected to be in the Seaons folders (i.e. ...\Pacific\Spring etc).

Does the above help????

Matt.


Posts: 692 | From: Sydney, Australia | Registered: Oct 1999  |  IP: Logged
Donster
Member
Member # 196

posted 02-13-2000 03:20 PM     Profile for Donster   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post
Thanks Matt! Will check right away! Let you know what the results are.

Donster


Posts: 10794 | From: Cedar Rapids, Iowa USA | Registered: Sep 1999  |  IP: Logged
Donster
Member
Member # 196

posted 02-13-2000 04:24 PM     Profile for Donster   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post
Matt,

Here is my .ini from Stab:
Terrain1=Channel Front
Seasons1=1
Terrain2=Mediterranean
Seasons2=0
Terrain3=Pacific
Seasons3=0
Terrain4=North Afrika
Seasons4=0
Terrain5=
Seasons5=0

I have "Copy Skins when Terrain changes take effect", selected. In the Skins Folder, I have the Pacific Skins in the "Pacific Skins"
subfile. Same as North Afrika. The Terrains and Skins switch properly, but I still have the Japanese skins listed in Mission Parameters. Also it displays the "Tony"
in the Hud display, when a German skin is running. I checked the EAW Folder when I have the "Channel Front" loaded and just the default skins loaded, with same results. Also
if I run EAW without using STAB. The problem is probably just me, but it is kind of weird,
never the less.

Donster


Posts: 10794 | From: Cedar Rapids, Iowa USA | Registered: Sep 1999  |  IP: Logged
matttm
Member
Member # 662

posted 02-13-2000 07:08 PM     Profile for matttm   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post
You are running ECA Panel 2.0 right?

If you are, from memory, it rewrites the *.STR files when you change to a non-EAW plane or variant (like the Japanese one's) so that it will display correctly in EAW.

My conjecture is that you are copying OK, but the *.STR files are still the same. Hence the Tony appearing.

EAW Stab only copys *.TER (terrain) and *.TPC (skins, cockpits etc).

I should also add, that Terrain files MUST be in the ..\Terrain\<terrain set>... folders and Skins MUST be in the ..\Skins\<terrain set> folders otherwise it won't work

You cannot lump them all in the same folder.

Does this help???

Matt.

[This message has been edited by matttm (edited 02-13-2000).]


Posts: 692 | From: Sydney, Australia | Registered: Oct 1999  |  IP: Logged
Bullett52
Member
Member # 3111

posted 02-13-2000 09:54 PM     Profile for Bullett52   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post
matttm, hate to be a pest but the skins part of stab is not working for me. I have all the skins in the correct folders, the change skin when terran changes option is on, and still the same problem. Some skins appear and some don't. Everytime I change terrain only some of the skins that I have loaded appear, even though all the skins for that particular terrain are loaded in their proper folder, and the change skin option is on.

I ran an escort mission using Med, terrain; the Stuka and 38's had their skins, but the 109 and 47's did not. Changed to Pacific, the Zero and Tony had their skins the Hellcat and Bearcat didn't.


I can't figure out what I'm doing wrong. Could it be that there is a limit to the number of skins that you can use with each terrain?

Thanks matttm, I guess I'm a blockhead for not being able to get this right.


Posts: 8 | From: Mich, USA | Registered: Feb 2000  |  IP: Logged
matttm
Member
Member # 662

posted 02-13-2000 09:58 PM     Profile for matttm   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post
Q: Are you exiting EAW and restarting EAW wheb you change Terrain (and Skins)? There is a known issue that EAW caches Terrain at first mission load. This may effect Skins as well (not sure).

Try changing Terrain, exit EAW, start EAW and see if all is ok.

Matt.

P.S. Check to make sure that none of your *.TPC files (check the EAW folder as well) are Read Only. To do this, single click on a *.TPC file and right click, then select properties. If any are Read Only, remove the check mark!

[This message has been edited by matttm (edited 02-13-2000).]


Posts: 692 | From: Sydney, Australia | Registered: Oct 1999  |  IP: Logged
Donster
Member
Member # 196

posted 02-13-2000 10:52 PM     Profile for Donster   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post
Matt,

Yes, I am running ECA 2.0. I also have the Terrain files in Terrain folders and Skin Files in Skin Folders. I will reset ECA to the default settings and see if there is any change. Thanks again for your help!

Donster


Posts: 10794 | From: Cedar Rapids, Iowa USA | Registered: Sep 1999  |  IP: Logged
Jamie Richards
Member
Member # 1405

posted 02-13-2000 11:02 PM     Profile for Jamie Richards   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post
Matt,

Are you saying that Stab 1.2 will simply not clear out any TPC or TER files that are marked READ-ONLY, but instead pass over them without any problem? This is good to hear, because it gives me a solution to the problem of having my readable-instruments (*X.TPC) files from being erased with every terrain switch in Stab 1.2. I'm sure others have come up against this problem, too.

I'll try this out myself now -- do you think this is a good solution for this problem? In other words, will me making certain files in my EAW folder READ-ONLY screw up Stab 1.2 in any way?

Another solution, I suppose, would be to add a switch to Stab that would tell the program not to erase *X.TPC files -- but if the READ-ONLY solution is workable, I'm happy with that.


Posts: 588 | From: Toronto, Ontario, CANADA | Registered: Dec 1999  |  IP: Logged
Donster
Member
Member # 196

posted 02-13-2000 11:11 PM     Profile for Donster   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post
Matt,

You were correct! It is ECA Panel that is doing it. I can't believe I did not notice that before! Must really be getting old!
Thanks Again!

Donster


Posts: 10794 | From: Cedar Rapids, Iowa USA | Registered: Sep 1999  |  IP: Logged
matttm
Member
Member # 662

posted 02-13-2000 11:50 PM     Profile for matttm   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post
Donster,

Glad it wasn't me!!!

Jamie,

Yes, making it Read Only will work but is not really elegant.

Normally, to delete a Read Only file (programmatically) you must remove the attribute and then delete the file. I do not check for Read Only attribute and neither do I report deletion errors. This is not laziness on my part! I made this a deliberate design decision because:

1. No files should be read only anyway (none of the EAW files are).

2. Because EAW Stab is stealthily running in Automatic Mode, the last thing you want is Error Dialog's popping up through EAW as this will throw the application into minimize mode which may cause a problem.

3. I am a little lazy!!! I tried to keep the code simple without excessive overhead.

The problem with making files Read Only is that Stab will be blamed for not copying files over if you forget that you made them read only! Just see Donsters post above about plane names! But it should work for you.

I cannot remember if I put it in the ReadMe or posted in a thread that you will need to copy instrument, cockpit TPC files into the Skins folders if they exist for the aircraft you are using.

Anyway, if you check the other thread, I will cut a Version 1.2a in the next two/three days to copy *.3DZ files as well as *.TPC files for Skins processing.

Matt.

[This message has been edited by matttm (edited 02-13-2000).]

[This message has been edited by matttm (edited 02-13-2000).]


Posts: 692 | From: Sydney, Australia | Registered: Oct 1999  |  IP: Logged

All times are MST (US)  

   Open Topic    Move Topic    Delete Topic next oldest topic   next newest topic
Hop To:

Contact Us | COMBATSIM.COM Home

COMBATSIM.COM, INC. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by Infopop Corporation
Ultimate Bulletin Board 6.04b

Sponsor
2014 COMBATSIM.COM - All Rights Reserved