Topic Closed  Topic Closed


  
my profile | register | search | faq | forum home

 
next oldest topic   next newest topic
»  COMBATSIM.COM Forum Archive   » Archives   » EAW Archive 1   » How to check FPS?

   
Author Topic: How to check FPS?
Loco
Member
Member # 573

posted 10-20-1999 10:12 AM     Profile for Loco   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post
Hi,

I'm new in EAW and I would like to know how active the frames per second (FPS) counter in my display.I looked for it in the manual but I didn't find it.
Some sims use "alt + P" but EAW?
I want try this to check my system performance.

Thanks.


Posts: 11 | From: Brasil | Registered: Oct 1999  |  IP: Logged
KrashnBurn
Member
Member # 21

posted 10-20-1999 10:44 AM     Profile for KrashnBurn   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post
Hi and welcome aboard...

Now, to check FPS in EAW, if it is a sunny day I get out my sundial and a piece of wet string and ... but no, it's cloudy today so it is better to wait until night time when the shadow of the moon falls on the...

The reason I'm dicking around Loco is that there isn't a frame counter in EAW. Some time ago someone posted something about having made a frame counter...unfortunately the forum got cleaned up and it isn't here anymore (I did a search)

Anyone else remember that post, or tried the alleged frame counter?

Krash


Posts: 92 | From: | Registered: Sep 1999  |  IP: Logged
CFrancisco
Member
Member # 33

posted 10-20-1999 10:44 AM     Profile for CFrancisco   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post
Loco,

I dont think there is one in EAW.. unlike the other sims (dont know which one youre talking about just know that FPS games Have Frame counters like QUAKE and UNREAL etc.) but here is a place you can get a benchmarking utility so that you can check your system performance..i found 3d benchmark 99 on a cdrom i got from PCworld and MaximumPC mag.. its a great utility to benchmark PCs vid card sound card etc.
http://www.zdnet.com/zdbop/winbench/winbench.html?chkpt=hpqs013


Posts: 4364 | From: NYC, NY | Registered: Sep 1999  |  IP: Logged
Enola Gay
Member
Member # 359

posted 10-20-1999 10:48 AM     Profile for Enola Gay   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post
Appropos of nothing...Combat Flight Simulator has a frame counter of course. Don't all quality sims? How else are you supposed to optimise your setup?

Oh? EAW doesn't? Sorry to hear it. I guess the EAW 1.99999 patch might address that

E.G.


Posts: 28 | From: | Registered: Sep 1999  |  IP: Logged
CFrancisco
Member
Member # 33

posted 10-20-1999 10:53 AM     Profile for CFrancisco   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post
SCHEISS!!! HELMUT qvick catch zat CFS infiltrator!! how did he get in here!! ALLLLAAAARRRRMMMM!!!! mach schon!! *WWWWRRRRRR WWWWRRRRR WWWRRRRRR DING DING DING* *RUFF RUFF RUFF (hehehehe Rottweilers)*

ve vill catch zat CFS infiltrator und zen he shall pay for his sabotage of a new EAW flieger... HAHAHAHA hey E.G back to your old CFS tricks huh.. i must contact Kraut our secret double triple agent..


Posts: 4364 | From: NYC, NY | Registered: Sep 1999  |  IP: Logged
LLv34_Snefens
Member
Member # 72

posted 10-20-1999 10:54 AM     Profile for LLv34_Snefens   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post
The FPS-counter KnB are talking about can be found at:
http://www.fraps.com/

It doesn't work for EAW in Glide, so you have to use D3D to get a read out.

------------------
LLv34 Snefens
RO / Lentolaivue 34


Posts: 329 | From: Aarhus, Denmark | Registered: Sep 1999  |  IP: Logged
KrashnBurn
Member
Member # 21

posted 10-20-1999 11:01 AM     Profile for KrashnBurn   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post
Tusind tak for rådet Snefens Jeg var bang for at posten var alt for gammel for jer til at huske...

Hils dronningen,

Krash


Posts: 92 | From: | Registered: Sep 1999  |  IP: Logged
JWC
Member
Member # 116

posted 10-20-1999 11:10 AM     Profile for JWC     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post
The FRAPS 99 frame counter Snefens mentions DOES work (only in D3D). I used it to see what kind of frame rates I was getting, and then went back to Glide. Still have it though, just don't need to use it now that I know!

PS: on my P200 w/96MB and a Voodoo 3 frame rates SOMETIMES went up to 40+ (clear sky, looking up--or at least no ground visible on screen--and just me up there) and dropped down to as low as 4 (screenfull of smoking/damaged bombers, enemy fighters between them and me).


Posts: 1633 | From: College Station, Texas, USA | Registered: Sep 1999  |  IP: Logged
Tailspin
Member
Member # 86

posted 10-20-1999 07:03 PM     Profile for Tailspin   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post
Yes Fraps works. Its a very small D/L (about 30 sec. on my lumbering dinoputer.) Try it! you'll like it!
Keep an eye on the website...they are suppposed to be working on a glide friendly version.

[This message has been edited by Tailspin (edited 10-20-1999).]


Posts: 1895 | From: Metropolis USA | Registered: Sep 1999  |  IP: Logged
Loco
Member
Member # 573

posted 10-20-1999 07:50 PM     Profile for Loco   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post
Thanks for your help friends.
I use D3D, so I'll try the fraps.
I used this counter in SDOE, AW3 and Warbirds and this was useful to get the best settings in these games.
EAW is outstanding, really very good and I'm enjoying with it.

Thanks Again.


Posts: 11 | From: Brasil | Registered: Oct 1999  |  IP: Logged

All times are MST (US)  

   Open Topic    Move Topic    Delete Topic next oldest topic   next newest topic
Hop To:

Contact Us | COMBATSIM.COM Home

© COMBATSIM.COM, INC. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by Infopop Corporation
Ultimate Bulletin Board 6.04b

Sponsor
© 2014 COMBATSIM.COM - All Rights Reserved