my profile | register | search | faq | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
»  COMBATSIM.COM Forum Archive   » Game Discussions (Genre)   » Jets   » Anyway to increase framerate in Jane's FA?

   
Author Topic: Anyway to increase framerate in Jane's FA?
Storm
Member
Member # 1480

posted 11-01-2000 01:00 PM     Profile for Storm   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Well, I'm playing this sim again, after a few years of it pulled from the HD. My question is why isnt the framerate higher on a better system? I dont want to lower the grpahics, as it shouldnt be of any concern now. I'm now running it on a K6-2 400Mhz, with 128Mb RAM and a 16Mb Banshee card. I still feel I'm running my old P1 166 and 4 Mb card. TIA!

Storm

------------------
"When Gorillas fly, Migs die!" 58th F.S.


Posts: 606 | From: Crestview, Florida USA | Registered: Dec 1999  |  IP: Logged
The Whistler
Member
Member # 4609

posted 11-01-2000 01:33 PM     Profile for The Whistler   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
I (and many others) noticed that too. I can't figure out why. And I find it is only in the detailed maps (Vietnam, Taiwan, etc).
Posts: 1736 | From: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada [email protected] | Registered: May 2000  |  IP: Logged
Kurt Plummer
Member
Member # 358

posted 11-01-2000 08:52 PM     Profile for Kurt Plummer   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Hey Storm,

I imagine you've heard this before but the sense of inertia (you pass me, I pass you, we both skid into the turn and slip past each other) and low level /speed/ (relative to scaled objects) is better at X2 up to about 500-600knots and X4 thereafter.

Frankly, I also like it for landings as there is less 'float' as you ride a harder glideslope.

Indeed, in the USNF'97 Vietnam scenarios, it's almost imposssible to beat the MiGs with energy drill without this as it seems that the enemy AI is more easily confused above and below the sillline with large aspect changes.

One other bit of advice, get Gregory's 214 update patches and learn to adjust your ideas of weapon firing ranges well outside the listed text range for the apparent size of the airplane. Again, this is a fact of ATF/FA life and occurs no matter what cockpit mag reduction you've got set (I usually flew -66 for bombing and -100 for ACM)


Best Luck- Kurt Plummer


Posts: 672 | From: | Registered: Sep 1999  |  IP: Logged
The Whistler
Member
Member # 4609

posted 11-02-2000 01:50 PM     Profile for The Whistler   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
I think he was talking about FPS (how many times the screen refreshes in a second) not the sense of speed (which is also messed in FA ).
Posts: 1736 | From: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada [email protected] | Registered: May 2000  |  IP: Logged
Storm
Member
Member # 1480

posted 11-02-2000 02:36 PM     Profile for Storm   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Whistler,

Yep, thats what I was talking about. Even on my upgraded system, it's still real jerky. Cant figure why it would be that way. But on the actual sense of speed, yes I do fly with the x2 going. Anyone have any ideas??

Storm


Posts: 606 | From: Crestview, Florida USA | Registered: Dec 1999  |  IP: Logged
SavoirFaire
Member
Member # 780

posted 11-04-2000 12:24 AM     Profile for SavoirFaire   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
You didn't mention what frame rate you are getting now. With that system, you should be able to max out at about 52-53 fps with graphics set on low (the usual online acm setup). The frames were limited in the patched version to reign in the wild "framers" that were wreaking havoc on the old JOGC. So, if you go back to the unpatched version, you might see frames in the 100+ range. Then turn up the graphics as far as you like.

Just a thought.....

------------------
SavoirFaire is everywhere!!........


Posts: 29 | From: Newport Beach, CA USA | Registered: Oct 1999  |  IP: Logged
Storm
Member
Member # 1480

posted 11-04-2000 10:28 AM     Profile for Storm   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
quote:
Originally posted by SavoirFaire:
You didn't mention what frame rate you are getting now. With that system, you should be able to max out at about 52-53 fps with graphics set on low (the usual online acm setup). The frames were limited in the patched version to reign in the wild "framers" that were wreaking havoc on the old JOGC. So, if you go back to the unpatched version, you might see frames in the 100+ range. Then turn up the graphics as far as you like.

Just a thought.....


No kidding?? They patched the game and reduced the framerate ability? Hmm, never knew that. Yep, I'll try to go back to version 1.0 and see how it does. Thanks for the craniums up.

Storm

------------------
"When Gorillas fly, Migs die!" 58th F.S.


Posts: 606 | From: Crestview, Florida USA | Registered: Dec 1999  |  IP: Logged
The Whistler
Member
Member # 4609

posted 11-04-2000 10:56 AM     Profile for The Whistler   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Ya. When they made the engine I guess they didn't expect it to be played this long so the made it that the flight model performance was tied into the fps (ie higher fps more maneuverable planes). Then when JCN came out all the people with faster systems were owning the people with low end systems so Janes mad a patch that limited it at 52 fps.
Posts: 1736 | From: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada [email protected] | Registered: May 2000  |  IP: Logged
The Whistler
Member
Member # 4609

posted 11-04-2000 10:58 AM     Profile for The Whistler   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
I don't think that is the problem though. I also own USNF 97 (which has no limiter) and it is just as jerky with all settings high except when I point the plane at the sky (everything goes super fast then).

[This message has been edited by The Whistler (edited 11-04-2000).]


Posts: 1736 | From: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada [email protected] | Registered: May 2000  |  IP: Logged

All times are MST (US)  

   Close Topic    Move Topic    Delete Topic next oldest topic   next newest topic
Hop To:

Contact Us | COMBATSIM.COM Home

COMBATSIM.COM, INC. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by Infopop Corporation
Ultimate Bulletin Board 6.04b

Sponsor
2014 COMBATSIM.COM - All Rights Reserved