my profile | register | search | faq | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
»  COMBATSIM.COM Forum Archive   » Game Discussions (Genre)   » Jets   » Fligh Sim With F-8 Crusader

Author Topic: Fligh Sim With F-8 Crusader
Nick
unregistered

posted 01-01-2000 04:26 AM       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
I'm new to the flight-sim genre. Can anyone tell me if there are sim's out there that include F-8 Crusaders (The Mig Master)?
IP: Logged
Major Tom
Member # 1256

posted 01-01-2000 05:02 AM     Profile for Major Tom   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
US Navy Fighters '97 has a F-8 in it.

And the "MiG master" title must go to the F-105D Thunderchief. It shot down more MiG's than North Vietnamese AAA and SAMs combined.

Posts: 1352 | From: Prescott, AZ | Registered: Dec 1999  |  IP: Logged
Kurt Plummer
Member # 358

posted 01-01-2000 05:21 AM     Profile for Kurt Plummer   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Hey Nick,

Be forewarned, the F-8E feels very, hmmmm, underpowered? Underaccelerated? Something like that.

Yet if you play the game at X2, it gets near-impossible to launch and the slightest climb leaves you 'hanging' with less than 45` on the pitchbars and zero airspeed.

You cannot really turn with the MiGs (you can get close in X1 but they will eventually beat your butt blue on pure numbers) and, unlike the F-4, it's pretty near impossible to run an energy game on them. Getting much above 600-620 knots is a near impossibility until your last dregs of fuel.

Oh! I should also mention that for a machine that flew a pretty fair range profile, you burn gas like an elephant in a fireworks display.

Unfortunately, unless it's available in one of the MSoft sims, I can only think of one other option: Flight Of The Intruder.

It might have had a Crusader, I dunno. Your chances of finding both a copy and a machine that it will run on are pretty slim.