my profile | register | search | faq | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
»  COMBATSIM.COM Forum Archive   » Game Discussions (Genre)   » Jets   » view realism

Author Topic: view realism
markL
unregistered

posted 12-21-1999 06:10 AM       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
I have a question regarding realistic views in flight sims. I would like opinions from some experts as to what they feel is the most realistic view that a pilot may see that is available in most sims. Is it the virtual cockpit? The standard 2D full cockpit, or the full HUD mode? I am interested to find out what you think it is.
MarkL

IP: Logged
Beirut
Member # 32

posted 12-21-1999 04:57 PM     Profile for Beirut     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Hey there,

Well I'm not an expert (just damn good looking!) but I've found that a wider view field, in the sense of sitting farther back in the cockpit, seems more realistic to me. DID's F22ADF had a wide field option, and while is wasn't very good for A2A, it did give you (me) a better sense of immersion. You (almost) really felt like you were in a plane looking out, as opposed to in a sim and looking at. If you see what I mean. The problem is that it also gave the terrain a fishbowl look. Not practical for action, just flying.

Also, WWIIF has a nice cockpit view option. I find the P-38, with the seat back a notch or two, looks gorgeous, offers good immersion, and is fairly practical for A2A and A2G. I love seeing the yoke moving around in-picture, very immersive, possibly the best I've ever sim-flown. Why Falcon 4 doesn't have a wide field option, or a FULL cockpit option, is beyond me. I think it would look great and improve the game.

Maybe interior head movement, fluid, back and forth as well as side to side, would be the thing. True 3D head movement. Now that would be nice.

Posts: 382 | From: Quebec, Canada | Registered: Sep 1999  |  IP: Logged
Major Tom
Member # 1256