my profile | register | search | faq | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
»  COMBATSIM.COM Forum Archive   » Game Discussions (Genre)   » Jets   » Reflections/lift lines for spatial awareness

Author Topic: Reflections/lift lines for spatial awareness
Attila
Member # 853

posted 12-16-1999 05:17 PM     Profile for Attila     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Hi all,

I have very little experience with reflections/lift lines from EF2000 and JSF and F2. Although somewhat helpful they still leave some confusion about head/aircraft attitude in padlock.

Leaving the discussion about reflections for visual effect etc. to the side, and focussing on reflections and canopy markings/lift lines for increased spatial awareness (understanding attitude of camera/pilot's head and aircraft) --- can someone answer/debate the following question: Does reflections/lift lines help your awareness of whether your're looking at 2 o'clock or 4 o'clock? At 30 degrees pitch or 60 degrees pitch (of camera/head)? And does it help your awareness of the tilt of the camera/pilot's head?

I suspect that innovatative canopy markings could help with these awareness problems. The pilots here clearly state that this loss of awareness is a sim problem --- perhaps we are justified in more awareness aids?

Eg. why not add a 3-9 line? Add some symbols/lines that will clarify tilt and pitch as well?

(See my F2 images on the Flanker 2 forum, "External view --- proposal", for an illustration of the problem, particularly tilt.)

Posts: 579 | From: Scotland | Registered: Nov 1999  |  IP: Logged
Andy Bush
Member # 12

posted 12-16-1999 05:48 PM     Profile for Andy Bush   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Attila