my profile | register | search | faq | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
»  COMBATSIM.COM Forum Archive   » Game Discussions (Genre)   » Jets   » USAF

   
Author Topic: USAF
Impaler
Member
Member # 131

posted 10-01-1999 10:49 PM     Profile for Impaler   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Just played the demo and WOW man talk about being Immersed in the game I have never seen terrain like this. Bravo Pixel.
Posts: 308 | From: an island in the pacific | Registered: Sep 1999  |  IP: Logged
Impaler
Member
Member # 131

posted 10-01-1999 11:17 PM     Profile for Impaler   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Just played again and went for a tour and noticed when you fly down low you kick up dust off the ground very cool. also alot of the keys from IAF are similar esp the view keys. all the function ones. <ctrl P> for pause.
Posts: 308 | From: an island in the pacific | Registered: Sep 1999  |  IP: Logged
mbaxter
Member
Member # 191

posted 10-01-1999 11:48 PM     Profile for mbaxter   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Does it have a virtual cockpit, or just a 2D cockpit like IAF?
Posts: 1687 | From: USA | Registered: Sep 1999  |  IP: Logged
Impaler
Member
Member # 131

posted 10-02-1999 12:01 AM     Profile for Impaler   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Yes it has virtual cockpit and conopy reflections.
Posts: 308 | From: an island in the pacific | Registered: Sep 1999  |  IP: Logged
Psycho
Member
Member # 455

posted 10-02-1999 04:28 AM     Profile for Psycho   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
I got the demo, but I cant use my Suncom F15 joystick. When I go to control menu and select joystick, then click calibrate, it goes to the windows joystick menu and then it start doing some weird **** . Whenever I end the game and go to calibrate my joystick, everything is fine. I cant even here the sound.

Its not the sound card or the joystick, because they work fine in all my other games.


Posts: 12 | From: NYC | Registered: Oct 1999  |  IP: Logged
StOrM
unregistered

posted 10-02-1999 11:26 AM       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
all i can say about janes USAF is WOW!!!!!
IP: Logged
FalconF1
Member
Member # 11

posted 10-02-1999 12:49 PM     Profile for FalconF1   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
I got the demo.
I'll say its aaaaight, but nothing special though. I hope the demo purposely put WAY TOO MANY enemy ac. The actual game better not have that kind of air activity- especially if there is a D. Storm campaign.

Posts: 300 | From: NY,NY- USA | Registered: Sep 1999  |  IP: Logged
Jon
Member
Member # 324

posted 10-02-1999 03:47 PM     Profile for Jon   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
I think from the demo that USAF will accomplish what it was intended to accomplish. The terrain and 3-D objects look great. I'm running at 1024x768 on a Cel A 333 with a Voodoo Banshee. It slows down at times but it's certainly playable. I am curius to know what I'm missing by not having a PIII. Maybe someone can post somes shots of PIII vs non-PIII.

I've seen some complaints of it being arcade-ish. My view is that it was never intended to be hardcore. I'd say it a step up in fidelity over USNF/ATF/FA and certainly over anything by Nov-illogic. To me it will be my FA replacement. Especially with the mission builder.

I agree that the air-activity level in the demo-mission was overdone. They probably wanted to make sure we could fly too long so they insured that we'd get waxed eventually like the previous poster said. Hopefully the campaigns won't be filled with this "hyper-activity". It probably would've been more do-able if we had a wingy.


Jon


Posts: 135 | From: Rochester, NY USA | Registered: Sep 1999  |  IP: Logged
mbaxter
Member
Member # 191

posted 10-02-1999 04:56 PM     Profile for mbaxter   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
How are you able to play at 1024x768? It only plays at 640x480 for me with software rendering. It seems to ignore my Voodoo2 card entirely. My 2D card is just an old Matrox Mystique220 4MB PCI card.

Will the final version have Glide support?


Posts: 1687 | From: USA | Registered: Sep 1999  |  IP: Logged
Mnemonic
Member
Member # 402

posted 10-02-1999 05:04 PM     Profile for Mnemonic   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Anyone tried using the voice commands? In preferences, go to keyboard and it tells what they are. Are they disabled or is it just because it can't recognize my voice?

I love how they yell "Sieeera Hotel!", heh.


Posts: 132 | From: Virginia, USA | Registered: Sep 1999  |  IP: Logged
nick moyrand
Member
Member # 214

posted 10-02-1999 05:13 PM     Profile for nick moyrand   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Well, I just downloaded the USAF demo, and I almost had an orgasm, this is it guys! my wife freaked when I said "YEAH, someone finaly got f-ucking graphics down!"

It is simply awesome guys!, the terrain will kick the living daylights out of you and the models feel "just right". the fact that you can adjust the "reality" of your flight model is awesome, man, the looks of this sim are just incredible!

I ran it at high res, 1600X1200 and it is absolutely scrumptous!

I AM GETTING THIS FRIGGIN' SIM!!!!!!!!!

Damnit, this thing just made my day!!!!

------------------
Nick Moyrand


Posts: 897 | From: www.lakah-group.com | Registered: Sep 1999  |  IP: Logged
Kurt Plummer
Member
Member # 358

posted 10-02-1999 07:49 PM     Profile for Kurt Plummer   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Hey Ho,

Got it, played it, won.

Second Time out (the first time I /would/ have won but I smacked into this 'photo realistic' terrain. Seems they can't handle a positive g pullover on ridges...)

Sigh. I gotta admit I may have ragged too hard on USAF, sight unseen. Gameplay is about what I expected but the graphics are /nice/ and make a definite step up from both FA and IAF.

It surely would have _helped_ if Janes had put up a 'finished product', 1024X768, image page though.

Unlike the stuff on their site the fighters are all pretty well 'rounded' (the Su's are bad around the nose) with -far- better edge-matched skin mapping than you see in the downloadables area.

Sigh...

It's such a good /start/ on a game it's almost a shame that they didn't make it a -sim-.

Some Constructive Observations:
1. Force Packaging= _DETACHED SUPPORT_
I realize it's 'kewl' in terms of being able to 'see' your fellows in the formation but geeze folks, that just ain't the way it's /done/!!

Depending on when/if the F-16 ATD folks arrive, the number of threat air is actually okay, it's the way the game portrays dealing with them from Right Atop The Target that is hosed (and indeed reflects the way the USAF 'fighter bomber-do everything' F-15E PR label has screwed up specialist mission coordination in general).

What you WANT to have is four F-16C.50 'slice in' from an oblique holds about 20-30nm out from the target and well masked, lolo, using HTS/IDM satcomm handings from Crow or a recce drone to 10-12nm pop-HARM onto the Flap Lid (SA-10 engagement radar, which is noteably 'quiet', unfortunately).

Just as it starts to track the 'Wall Of Eagles' representative of 4-8 F-15C's, at 2-10 mile spacing and 20-60nm ahead of the rest of the package.

These in turn will do a deceptive crossing turn and assume opposed orbits /well away/ from the base -before- the Su-35's become a problem. They can then coattrail or near-far direct check engage the Super Flankers BEFORE they reach the 15-20nm outer AMRAAM effectives, which is typically where I find them coming off the target in my E.

As the TARCAP assumes station YOU are already on your way in with your Mudhen.
Given that there doesn't seem to be much MANPADS (I've gone up and down over the damn strip like I was driving a golf cart on the fairway trying to get the Mk.84 to come /off/! I would prefer BSU-50 laydown at my top end 800knots or so (not damn likely with all the crap I'm carrying! and then a 'clean' egress on a neutral AWACS bearing.

If you have to cut the runway, have Blk.40 Falcons use GBU-24 in a long toss with impacts just after I've Tornado'd on through. The 'fun' here is making the timed BOTOT and egress before the LGB hammers start making 2K' wide concussion cones in your face.

There is NO POINT in 'smacking' Super Flankers with -your- teeth. They have the altitude, you have the (their?) base-target destroyed and too many knots to catch. So /they lose/, unless you chose to (stupidly) play back up and into them.

2. Weapons and Targeting.
/Ideally/ this would ALL be done with JDAM kits and JSOW gliders.

JSOW from 20-30nm while I orbit, awaiting the cessation of 'Grumbles'.

Then JDAM right down the centerline with a 'sidestep' onto the tower. From 10-15nm and 'already on my way out'.

Unfortunately, the way the game APG-70 works, the targeting process is -way- too easy.

It 'sees' individual A/G blips of target signature rather than allowing ME to get a 'sight picture' from of smaller features from the outline of a 1m SAR patch (a reason to have a decent flight briefing is synthetic radar imagery to 'practice' with)

Once I know what I'm looking for/at I would then assign MULTIPLE aimpoints which are then inertially 'remembered' for tasking to weapon autopilots.

Yes all the above _is_ 'big wordy' but would actually /reward/ newbies with what I call 'keypress survival', which is a FAR easier and steeper learning curve than ducking the 10 MANPADS which /should/ greet you, crossing the target matrix zero line.

Very Important in gaining confidence and also a large differentiator from the SEA style system (which SHOULD be fixed-depression reticle, 'canned', divebombing but will probably be just another version of CCIP).

SPEAKING OF WHICH. The CCIP mode seems a bit squirrely, it may be that it won't drop if the 'locked' vs. triangle-primary target are too far out of release envelope cue but I haven't found a reject-target key yet.

X4 AIM-9 is unlikely with the load given because the AGM-65 LAU-88 launcher would require extenders to clear the 'Winder fins, I'm almost certain of it.

As stated, the Mk.84 have a poor CCIP release algorithm and I would actually prefer a 'heavier' roll-sense (lower absolute rate, some indication of decreasing rate 'inertia' for any given stick-throw), especially when in A/G mode. A separate submode key to cue CCRP and Toss options would be nice too.

Lastly, those Mavericks. I'm getting lock-ons from about 10-12nm and an 'in range' cue on the right MFD. Don't think that's the way it works on a Maverick from low level. 4nm max aero would be my guess, possibly doubling from a medium altitude profile?

3. Defenses and Padlocking.
While RF threats are minimal, I /have/ taken some kind of IR SAM shot that comes from the center of the base complex. Or at least I assume so because flares seem to decoy it while chaff only really works on A/A threats, at long range.

Yet while I'm getting a 'SAM' indication on my UFC (presumeably RWR induced as it comes prelaunch?) I haven't found any SA-9/13 etc. weapons and it's waaaay tol far for a MANPADS to launch from. Game-Typically, from the terrain scaling, it looks like the 'real' vs. apparent ranges are a tad off to assist in viz-acquisition/eye candy pleasure which means I'm getting shots where I don't think I should.

The external padlock is /nice/ though it seems to lag the missile especially when you put it on a beam and the weapon fights you for lead.

I would also appreciate some kind of missile-track, leadline, overlay. Similar to the 'real' padlock for instance. Since they MUST be emulating a MAWS to get launch warning on an IR threat and because with the current roll aggressiveness I'm a little leary of aggressive banks and no horizon line (small ADI with radalt overlay maybe?).

Also, with all the bleepity bleep bleep /crap/ it would be nice if Betty would give a 'bearing on'/'bearing off' audible so I can stop wasting expendables. Especially in the A/A game, the delay of view-stepping and the lack of an independent motion when fighting look-up in a bright sky makes it hard to tell whether the missile is going to make a last play for collision lead, until it smashes into dirt or safeties off and the &%[email protected]@#&! noise stops.

Has anybody gotten a J/ammer indication on their UFC or RWR? I can't tell if my ALQ-135 is 'working' yet or not...

Okay, gotta head back for another go. Dare I Say It? Good Job JANES!


Kurt GLOC Plummer


Posts: 672 | From: | Registered: Sep 1999  |  IP: Logged
JimG
Member
Member # 153

posted 10-02-1999 09:59 PM     Profile for JimG   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
GLOC, what's the use in posting here if no one knows what you are talking about? You might as well be talking to yourself.
Posts: 1012 | From: Columbia, S.C. | Registered: Sep 1999  |  IP: Logged
Swampthing
Member
Member # 388

posted 10-02-1999 10:09 PM     Profile for Swampthing   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Ya know GLOC, that book you wrote only proves you just don't get it. Your looking for excessive realism in a sim that never promised it. Take it for what it is, a absolutely beautiful game with excellent playability and tons of fun factor. If you can't handle that I suggest heading back to falcon 4 and reading the manual a few more times so that your really sure if the air force suddenly needs pilots that you'll be in contention because you haven't been flying "games" you've been flying "sims".
Posts: 285 | From: | Registered: Sep 1999  |  IP: Logged
John Geebes
unregistered

posted 10-02-1999 10:14 PM       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
nick moyrand, what are your system specs?

Thank you.


IP: Logged
Tailspin
Member
Member # 86

posted 10-02-1999 10:16 PM     Profile for Tailspin   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Hello USAF fans...I see you've met Kurt!

Well young man...You've done it AGAIN!!! Where's that wet noodle? he,he
Come along now. And quit bothering the nice USAF fellows!


Posts: 1895 | From: Metropolis USA | Registered: Sep 1999  |  IP: Logged
Kurt Plummer
Member
Member # 358

posted 10-03-1999 12:27 AM     Profile for Kurt Plummer   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Well Here's a 'Shortie' then...

1. Should I only be getting 'AB-2' in the game? I thought I read somewhere that the latest jets have 3 instead of 5 zones but my HUD starts at about 87% and a quick-cycle of the throttle still doesn't show the lower
RPM/fuel-flow clock thingie to be maxxed.

2. I think my padlock problem is a function of not moving-tracks but rather /changing/ perspective (outside to cockpit?) when I'm trying to pick up new missile threats. I know I keep getting sucker punched looking at a 'clean screen' with no white missile plumes...

I'm also not sure how the game updates padlocks relative to radar mode-range/locked targets. Shooting up into the Su-35's with my X3 remaining AIM-120, I typically end bringing at least 2 of 4 thru the merge. Cold Side and Spread Out, the AIM-9's are /useless/ and in the guns sphere that typically develops after I've dodged about 6 missiles, it's very hard to make sure everybody 'stays on one side' of me.

Anybody having similar problems?

3. Does the frame movement seem /slow/? Not /rate/ perse (it's very smooth in the updates, even with a full selection of graphics goody features) but rather the way the jet moves relative to some objects (over ground) and past others (FQ-->RQ on fighters, a problem similar to FA's 'X2 or else' difficulty with enemy MiG gunshots, especially over Vietnam).

Again, I wonder at the relative 'scale height' because coming in at 742 knots the last time on the airfield, in an attempt to 'get under' the Flanker's scan with NO AIM-120 shots, thereby forcing Ford to tackle them while I save for the 35's, I just took -forever- to get near the tower.

The sense of motion just wasn't there, more like I was suspended over a giant 'bowl'; photo real and always changing perspective 'correctly' but not getting much sense of moving -into- the vision field. If that makes sense.


So it wasn't short, but thanks- Kurt Plummer


Posts: 672 | From: | Registered: Sep 1999  |  IP: Logged
FalconF1
Member
Member # 11

posted 10-03-1999 12:33 AM     Profile for FalconF1   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
You hit the nail on the head KPlummer.

I flew real low @680 knots to hit that tower and I was able to easily drop the bombs on it. It felt like I was doing more like 200 knots.


Posts: 300 | From: NY,NY- USA | Registered: Sep 1999  |  IP: Logged
Birdman
Member
Member # 287

posted 10-03-1999 12:52 AM     Profile for Birdman   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
mbaxter, try using USAFConfig.exe to tell USAF which video card to use. It fixed up my similiar problem and USAF now uses my Voodoo2.
Posts: 229 | From: California, USA | Registered: Sep 1999  |  IP: Logged
nick moyrand
Member
Member # 214

posted 10-03-1999 11:43 AM     Profile for nick moyrand   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
To John Geebs who appears a bit miffed at my previous post.
John, my system consists of the following components:

P III 600, 512 Ram, 10,000 rpm SCSI hard drive with Adaptec SCSI pci card and a kenwood 52X SCSI CD Rom drive. I also use a Matrox G 400 Max Agp card with dual heads as I use dual monitors.

In the menue (preferences window) of the demo, they even propose 1920X1200X32 , I guess it comes from my system, it's pretty high end after all.

I choose to run it at 1600X1200X32 with everything on as it remains very smooth throughout, I tried 1920X1200X32 but it starts straining a bit even though it remains playable.

To the USAF guy: What the hell are you talking about?


Posts: 897 | From: www.lakah-group.com | Registered: Sep 1999  |  IP: Logged
John Geebes
unregistered

posted 10-03-1999 12:43 PM       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
nick moyrand, How much did your system cost? I wish I have what you have. What type of occupation do you have to enable you to buy a super machine like that? I have a AMD-K6 3D processor running at 450 mhz. I have 128MB of ram and a Voodoo 3 3000 AGP video card.

Thank you


IP: Logged
Josh
unregistered

posted 10-03-1999 12:50 PM       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Does anybody know if USAF is gonna ship with a mic or headset thing?
IP: Logged
nick moyrand
Member
Member # 214

posted 10-03-1999 01:42 PM     Profile for nick moyrand   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
John yes, it is expensive,and I don't think it would be nice to get down to dollars and cents on these forums.

Click on my profile to find out what I do, all I can say though is that I ain't no fighter jock! (maybe on my PC).

Since we are on the subject of high-end systems, you'd be amazed at what some guys on this thread own, simmers have the tendency to go overboard with their gear.

One guy, who'll remain anonymous (for fear of embarrassment) has six PC's at his home, all of them P II's and P III's, go figure!. That makes me really small potatoes!

------------------
Nick Moyrand


Posts: 897 | From: www.lakah-group.com | Registered: Sep 1999  |  IP: Logged
Bossman
Member
Member # 483

posted 10-03-1999 04:48 PM     Profile for Bossman   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Nick I also run the g400 max and the game runs to those high resolutions as well. But only when I start the game from the install start (run USAF now) I run my main monitor at 1600x1200 and if I try to launch it from the desktop Icon I get a blank screen. I must re-install to play after I have left the game. I have tried to launch the game with the Icon with desktop set from 8x6 to 16x12 with no luck. Can you tell me the settings you have enabled on your max as well as in the game. This may help me.

P3 450
256 ram
g400 max DH 32meg
22 gig 7200 rpm ata 66
20 gig 7200 ata 33
A3d sound


Posts: 48 | From: | Registered: Oct 1999  |  IP: Logged
Bossman
Member
Member # 483

posted 10-03-1999 04:51 PM     Profile for Bossman   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
One more quick thing..
Drop your a/g ord when you get low in a knife fight (keep it till then) go to exterior view to drop it, watch your sence of speed. It literally doubles for me.

Posts: 48 | From: | Registered: Oct 1999  |  IP: Logged
Aaron
unregistered

posted 10-03-1999 06:06 PM       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
GLOC
wow I knew there was a reason I didn't want F4.
J/K man
I beat the demo, not all that hard just have to stay cool, I even flew off the map after and found 4 Mi-24's to kill.

Anyway, yeah you can do pos G pull overs on the canyons and ridges. For me the plane is so twitchy even after playing with the deadzone setting that not over rolling the plane as I come over the ridge is tough. I pulled 3 and 4 G's over some of the ridges. Actually it feels more real when I do it in IAF tho.

The thing is I don't want a sim as complex as F4, I may be stupid but USAF is just about as complex as I can handle.


IP: Logged
mbaxter
Member
Member # 191

posted 10-03-1999 06:23 PM     Profile for mbaxter   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Not "stupid" at all - try "normal". USAF is a smart approach for Jane's. It's going to make big profits for them, while sims like F4 and F2 will be lucky to break even when all is said and done.

Now, if Jane's could just port IAF over to the new graphics engine, I'd be really happy. Of course, I'd also love a "Russian Air Force" game as well. Just imagine, fly the Mig-29, Mig-27, SU-27, SU-35, SU-34, and SU-25 for the Russian air force in modern day conflicts. Fly the Mig-21 in a Vietnam-era campaign. Fly the Russian MFI or Berkut in futuristic scenarios.

Ok, sorry I'm getting ahead of myself.


Posts: 1687 | From: USA | Registered: Sep 1999  |  IP: Logged
Psycho
Member
Member # 455

posted 10-03-1999 07:24 PM     Profile for Psycho   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
This game is absolutely great.

Here is my little moment of the day.

I'm flying and spot 2 SU-35 inbound. I locked up one and fired an AIM-120, my cockpit computer starts screaming missle lock. Two migs moved in behind me and fired 2 archers. I switch to fkyby and saw the 2 missles with smoke trail headed my way. I hit my after burners, broke right and fired off 2 flares.
I was amazed as a saw the 2 missles exploded when I released the flares in the flyby mode. It looked freaking awesome. After that my flaps were a little damaged but I was still able to fight. I shot down 2 more migs as they were taking off, then got shot down by a SU-35.

I cant wait for this game.


Posts: 12 | From: NYC | Registered: Oct 1999  |  IP: Logged
mbaxter
Member
Member # 191

posted 10-03-1999 08:10 PM     Profile for mbaxter   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Hey Birdman! It worked! Thanks Birdman, now I know...and knowing is half the battle!

!!!!!!!


On a more serious note, Birdman, is it just me or does the V2 seem a little slow on D3D? I wonder if I might need to add a TNT2 or geForce to my arsenal...

Anybody know how long it will be before the geForce comes out?

[This message has been edited by mbaxter (edited 10-04-1999).]


Posts: 1687 | From: USA | Registered: Sep 1999  |  IP: Logged
Bigshot
Member
Member # 4

posted 10-03-1999 09:51 PM     Profile for Bigshot   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
I had high hopes for this one. Sounds like I'm gonna be in for a pleasant surprise. Looks like I just might have to start flying online with this one. Gonna need some high cover flying that Warthog at 100' when I'm chewing up tanks.
Posts: 1291 | From: Suttons Bay, MI, USA | Registered: Sep 1999  |  IP: Logged
nick moyrand
Member
Member # 214

posted 10-04-1999 04:05 AM     Profile for nick moyrand   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Bossman, this may sound complicated but here is what I did with the demo:

My main platform is used only for gaming ,no internet, word etc..., just the bare Windows essentials (I can't even type a letter on it!). What I did was to use a program called "lap link" in order to transfer files from one PC to the other, thus allowing me to keep a "clean" platform for gaming only.

On my "bloated" PC (the one that has all the peripherals and the internet riff-raff), I unzipped the demo and once unzipped I sent it to the other PC and had no problem with the main page icon. I did, however have a problem with it on the other PC I directly downloaded to, that could be the problem.

I think that once unzipped, you may need to delete the original demo, but again, I am not sure about this.

------------------
Nick Moyrand


Posts: 897 | From: www.lakah-group.com | Registered: Sep 1999  |  IP: Logged
Sam Freedman
unregistered

posted 10-04-1999 03:45 PM       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
nick moyrand, I hear that you are good with video cards so I have a question to ask. I am thinking about purchasing a 1 Giga hz machine but don't know what video card I should get for it? Any suggestions?

Thank you very much


IP: Logged
nick moyrand
Member
Member # 214

posted 10-05-1999 03:19 AM     Profile for nick moyrand   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
funny guy

------------------
Nick Moyrand


Posts: 897 | From: www.lakah-group.com | Registered: Sep 1999  |  IP: Logged
Bossman
Member
Member # 483

posted 10-05-1999 09:14 AM     Profile for Bossman   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Well I figured out how to get it to run, funny thing is it will only launch when I start from the install OR drop res on my desktop from 1600x1200 to 640x480 then launch.. strange, but it's faster to switch res then install and run from there.
Boss

Posts: 48 | From: | Registered: Oct 1999  |  IP: Logged
77Th_REAPER
Member
Member # 424

posted 10-07-1999 12:42 AM     Profile for 77Th_REAPER   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Thanx Birdman for the USAFconfig info. I didn't know that was even there. I must add I was still impressed with the graphics even without using the Voodoo 2. The extras setting for Pentium 3 rocks. I also noticed it made the aircraft handle better. I am still stuck on F-15 for realism but this sim is going to have an option that F-15 regrettingly lacked....COOP MULTIPLAYER!!!!
Haven't flown a good sim with this feature since FA and I might add its about damn time.

Posts: 40 | From: Springdale, Ar USA | Registered: Sep 1999  |  IP: Logged

All times are MST (US)  

   Close Topic    Move Topic    Delete Topic next oldest topic   next newest topic
Hop To:

Contact Us | COMBATSIM.COM Home

COMBATSIM.COM, INC. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by Infopop Corporation
Ultimate Bulletin Board 6.04b

Sponsor
2014 COMBATSIM.COM - All Rights Reserved