my profile | register | search | faq | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
»  COMBATSIM.COM Forum Archive   » Archives   » Jane's F/A-18 Archive 1   » Real pilot review/ F4 comparison/ reality check/ suggestions (Page 1)

This topic is comprised of pages:  1  2  3  4 

Author Topic: Real pilot review/ F4 comparison/ reality check/ suggestions
Zambo
Member # 2165

posted 01-27-2000 10:09 PM     Profile for Zambo   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Hi,

The name's Zambo and I'm a Harrier pilot (currently on a FAC tour in 29 Palms, CA). Some of my buddies and I really enjoy playing the flight sims during our spare time, especially overseas and on the boat to kill time. We even have Hornet 3.0 on the computer in our ready room back in my old squadron. I've been reading some of the posts here and elsewhere and I've thrown my 2 cents in a few times and finally decided to write a "review" of sorts from a fleet pilot's perspective vis-a-vis the good and bad points of Janes F-18 and Falcon 4, as well as areas that all of these sims could improve on. I believe that in the future, real life squadrons will use desktop simulations similar to these to reenforce procedures, HOTAS skills, communication skills, and practice recognizing the air and threat picture.